The “Turkey-Less” Tetrazzini…

My favorite farmer bought a 21# turkey for the five of us to enjoy at Thanksgiving. My daughters were quick to point out that it was a bit silly for him to provide us with 4.2# of turkey per family member.

In typical “Matt fashion”, he smiled, shrugged his shoulders, and stuffed his prized bird…

As you might guess, we had plenty of left over fowl after our Thanksgiving meal. I try to not waste food, so we have been eating a variety of turkey dishes since the initial feast. I grew up on homemade “chicken tetrazzini”, so one night last week I amended the dish with the plan of using up the leftover turkey.

I put together a nice cream sauce with cheese and white wine, boiled some homemade noodles that were a gift from a friend; and threw the casserole into the oven to bake just before I headed back to town to get the blondes at gymnastics.

Forty five minutes later, I served the casserole and noticed that Ashley Grace was picking through it with a strange look on her face.

“Mom, did you put the turkey in the casserole?”

This question was followed by a chorus of laughter as my favorite farmer struggled to not shake with mirth…I could have cried (literally), but I decided that joining in the laughter was a healthier choice.

The next day, Matt dropped a page of notes of my desk at the office with two sets of numbers listed on the top:

3000/500.

I looked up and innocently asked, “What does 3000/500 mean?”

He replied, “According to Dr. David Kohl from Virginia Tech University, human mental, emotional and physical fitness are disrupted when an individual spends more than 3000 hours per year working and more than 500 hours in volunteer service.” Silence ensued as he looked at me with a thoughtful, albeit omniscient expression on his face.

We both knew that I failed both of these parameters, so arguing seemed pointless…

I push myself hard – I always have – but the last 5 years have seen a huge increase in the number of volunteer hours personally given without a balancing decrease in the number of hours worked for pay.

The result —

Turkey-Less Tetrazzini…

I feel compelled to mention that I was also 15 minutes late picking Karyn up for school earlier that day because I lost track of time at the office — And, I also forgot to get on a scheduled conference call for the BQA National Advisory Board.

Hmmm.

It appears that my favorite farmer has compelling evidence to prove his point.

I rarely make “resolutions”, but perhaps I need to spend some quality time figuring out how to balance my life. When I figure it out, I’ll be sure to let you all know…Annealley.jpg

Until then, bear with me as I find my way.

14 Comments

Filed under Family, General

14 responses to “The “Turkey-Less” Tetrazzini…

  1. I feel like the balancing act of life is a constant battle, especially as a work at home mom. I’d love to know what you figure out. I know you’re doing the best you can; hang in there. I feel the same way!

    Maggie

    • Thank you, Maggie. I am afraid that there is no “pixie dust” for fix this challenge, but I will be sure to let you know if I find some!

      I owe you an email about your speaking request for July…I seem to be perpetually behind these days. I hope that you had a Merry Christmas and will be in touch soon.

      Best,
      Anne

  2. Balance. That one is not easy. Struggling with this one this year too. Hang in there!
    Blessings to you and yours!
    Laurie – Country Link

    • Thank you, Laurie! I hope that you and your family had a Merry Christmas — always such a joyful time 🙂 Best of luck to you as you manage your “juggling act”. If you figure out a magic formula please be sure to send it my way!

      Good to hear from you.

      Best,
      Anne

  3. I started a ” just say no club “. It hasn’t really worked well for me. I’m still Over committed…

    • I love it! I am going to pass that phrase along to my husband — he will get a good laugh out of it and then tell me to start one too 🙂 As you have likely found out, there are sometimes more requests than you can “say no” to…

      Thanks for sharing.
      Best,
      Anne

  4. This made me smile and nod my head in mutual agreement – this could be me, also! 🙂 I do have to say, also, that I love your husband’s take on the turkey – the more the better! And I can attest it does make a wonderful tetrazzini! LOL – Happy Hoildays! – Lara

    • Oops – I mean Happy Holidays! See, there I am, moving too fast and spelling something wrong. 🙂

      • I thought of you, Lara, when I wrote the post as I knew that you were going to like the “turkey” part 🙂 Matt always reminds me that our family should be “an equal opportunity barnyard supporter”.

        I hope that you had a wonderful Christmas.
        Best,
        Anne

  5. Robin

    It’s nice to know we’re sisters of the same circumstances. Time for an afternoon at the spa! You just might have to drive farther to one than I will.

    • Yes it is likely time to relax a bit, Robin. My husband actually asked me the other day if I knew how to do that 🙂 I haven’t ever been to a spa, but I am trying to take time to exercise (swim, walk, run) which is my “peaceful place”. I hope that you are having a wonderful holiday season, and finding some time for peace.

      Best,
      Anne

  6. Bobbi

    I feel like a I am always walking the tight rope in a circus. Trying to balance family, the farm, and the day job in town every day while trying to sneak in time to keep up the house and pencil in a few seconds for myself to decompress. Good luck getting some balance worked into your life. If you come up with the magic trick besides prioritizing and cutting some lower priority activities out let us know!

    • Unfortunately Bobbi, I haven’t found one of those yet…But I will be sure to pass my secret along if I ever uncover one 🙂 My juggling act is far from perfect and seems to catch up with me about once every few months. Late November and the first few weeks of December were really tough on me. My girls are doing a great job of trying to help me get caught up around the house with chores while they are on Christmas break, so I am making progress there. Trying to focus on the important things is a must and I firmly believe that each day should be started with a smile.

      I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas —

      Best,
      Anne

  7. Pingback: I Saw God Today… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

