Measuring Care By Productivity…

Thoughtful Thursday

girlschickeneggs.jpg

Every proud mama is entitled to brag every now and then…

This Thoughtful Thursday I give a special “shout out” to my daughters for their outstanding care to our laying hens, and to my favorite farmer for the nutrient filled alfalfa dehy that we mix with the chickens’ regular feed.  Rhode Island Reds give an average of 220 to 280 eggs per year — that equals approximately 0.6-0.8 eggs per hen per day — with the winter months being the least productive due to cold temperatures and short days.

Ashley Grace’s chickens produced at a rate of 1.08 eggs per hen per day during the month of November and the first week of December.

Good nutrition and quality care = Productive Food Animals

Well Done–You make me proud!

9 Comments

Filed under Ashley Grace's Corner and The Chick Project..., General, Thoughtful Thursday

9 responses to “Measuring Care By Productivity…

  1. That number is rather specific. You have a clipboard and a chart on the chicken’s production somewhere, don’t you? Maybe even an Excel file? The data is cool and your girls are fantastic, but I’m still laughing.

    • Yes, Bill. I am keeping track — that is the nerd in me shining through… So glad that I brought a laugh to your day!

      Hope that your Christmas was Merry. We’re still waiting for you to drive your clan to Nebraska to see the farm 🙂

      Take care,
      Anne

  2. theranchwifechronicles

    I sometimes feel a little silly getting excited about chickens, but they are fun.

    Yeah for your family chicken project and the farm fresh eggs. It’s somewhat simple and something the entire family enjoys.

    Tuesday my 18 hens gave me 15 eggs!

    • I have to say that I am amazed at how many smiles the laying hens bring in addition to the eggs. We are truly loving having them. When the whole project started, I was grumbling about more chores — but, I have to say, that it has been a great family endeavor. At 15 eggs a day, you all had better get eating some egg casserole 🙂

      I hope that your Christmas was Merry. We are white here in Nebraska so I assume that you are as well. I saw your mom across the room at the Nebraska Cattlemen Convention a couple of weeks ago. I never saw her to speak to but she seemed full of smiles 🙂

      Best,
      Anne

  3. Bobbi

    Seeing someone else reporting numbers like this makes me smile knowing I am not the only one who analyses numbers like this for everything we do. I was the one for the first 6 months of our son’s life calculated his average daily gain BEFORE I got out of the Dr office! That is awesome they are producing so well. I should ask my sister what her hen’s productivity numbers are!

    • Yes, Bobbi, I can picture you doing just that! Numbers are important, it is how we make sure that we are doing a good job and that “all is well”. In the almost 20 years that I have been involved in raising cattle, numbers have taken on an entirely new meaning for me. They are truly my “report card” of care, and I take them to heart.

      Best,
      Anne

  4. Yeah for chickens… we are happy our 14 ladies are giving us 6-8 eggs a day, after a long hiatus molting and adjusting to the cold 🙂 Glad to see the girls so happy with the chickens 🙂

    • We are hoping that they keep it up through the cold. We are back below zero this morning and are a bit “arctic” outside. So far, the hens continue to lay but I worry in January with the short days and bitter temperatures that they will drop off. We’ll see. Either way, the project is a great experience for all of us 🙂

      I hope that you had a Merry Christmas!
      Best,
      Anne

      • We had a nice and quiet Christmas 🙂 I hope you did as well 🙂

        I am so glad the chickens are fun for you all. I hope the cold won’t effect them. You can keep the “artic” temperatures there. It’s cold enough here 😉

        Have a blessed week 🙂

        -Kim

Leave a Reply

