Why Blog?

I read a blog post this week that spoke to me so much that I am going to deviate from my Sustainable Spring series to tell you all about it.   The author of the post is Aimee Whetstine who blogs at everyday epistle.

a

Aimee

Aimee was one of my very first “virtual friends”.  Although I have never met her in person, I value the relationship that we have built over the past year and a half.  I faithfully read her words each week because she respectfully inspires me to think even when we look at issues from different perspectives.

You can read Aimee’s post at http://projectunderblog.com/debunking-8-rules-of-blogging/ or visit her at http://everydayepistle.com/.

This week, Aimee tackled the issue of “Why Blog”, and what rules a blogger should live by.  It took me back to the weeks preceding my leap into social media in the spring of 2011, and also inspired me to rethink my current goals.

He is a silent contributor, but I could not do it without him...

We’re in this together…

Aimee did this with two short pieces of excellent advice:

  • Publish when you have something to say.
  • Your blog is a reflection of what matters to you.

I began blogging because I had something to say.  I wanted to open up my farm in an effort to have a respectful conversation about how I care for cattle and raise beef in a feed yard.   I believe in transparency and I believe that every consumer has a right to know how their food is raised.

I've become a farm girl and the days that I spend in the processing barn "working cattle" are some of my favorites...

Over the past 16 years I’ve become a farm girl, and the days that I spend in the processing barn “working cattle” are some of my favorites…

I continue to blog because I love to write.  I am a naturally reserved person, but I have found that I love to share my life through pictures and the written word.  From the challenges that I face — to the joys of raising my daughters in rural America, blogging is truly a personal journey that brings me joy.

Because I am not good at separating my life between raising cattle, parenting my girls, and sharing our story; my blog is a reflection of what matters to me.  It is a voluntary “labor of love”, and one that I am very proud of.  While it is sometimes easy to get caught up in the social media hype of blog statistics, I believe that blogging is truly about sharing, conversation, and personal growth.

There are many different types of conversations, but they must all be based on respect...

Conversations come in many types, but they must all be based on respect…

There may be times in the future that I *temporarily* may not have anything to say (my favorite teenager would like to go on record here to say that she doubts it!); but I will always come back because Feed Yard Foodie is an extension of me—a creative and intellectual outlet for the Ivy League educated psychologist turned cattle caregiver.

They are not just a number, they are an animal that deserves to receive good care and will give its life to nourish my children...

They are not just a number, they are animals that deserve to receive good care and will give their lives to nourish many very special people…

Hat’s off to Aimee and the countless other people that inspire me daily to be the best that I can be.  Thank you for respecting the individual that I am, and for choosing to join me in my adventures.

Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence.

Vince Lombardi

13 Comments

Filed under Foodie Work!, General

13 responses to “Why Blog?

  1. Anne, you are so sweet. I’m thankful for our online friendship and do hope to meet you one day IRL. Your consistent, steady voice about what matters to you makes a way for it to matter to us, too. I look forward to reading more of what you have to say!

    • Thank you, Aimee. I wish you and your family the best as you move back home to North Carolina. I know that you will “take God with you” on your journey and that the move will be a good one. I look forward to “hearing” about it on your blog.

      All the best,
      Anne

  2. I, too, enjoy blogging and I enjoy reading your blogs. When I first started I was hoping to be a window into agriculture. After a few blogs I found it was more my style to write about whatever inspires me at the moment. This has made the art of blogging an enjoyable part of my life!

    • I agree, Joan. It has to be something that brings you joy for it to be a successful and truthful self-representation.

      Thanks for blogging and thanks for reading!
      Anne

  3. Well said. I try to live by those two rules also some days better then other’s. I will check out your other ‘virtual friends’ posts. Your blog is always a place to learn and grow 🙂

    • Jeff

      I’m siding with AG.

    • Kim,

      I always enjoy hearing from you and am so glad that you find my site a place to learn and grow. AG is my favorite teenager, and as her honorary uncle Jeff usually feels the need to side with her 🙂

      I hope that you are feeling better. We have also had a tough spring at our house in terms of health. I need to get my house “debugged” so that we can all stay healthy this summer!

      Take care,
      Anne

      • Oh I was confused on what he was siding with her on… I thought it was her just not why… I may be behind sorry 😉 I always love your posts and hope someday I can know as much about a subject as much as you do so I can help others the way you do 🙂
        I am about 80% better and used some of yesterday to clean the house and sanitize it as much as I could manage 🙂 I hope your family stays healthy this spring and summer 🙂

  4. Kim,

    There is a running joke in our family that I have an opinion about EVERYTHING and am not shy about voicing it. Jeff was agreeing with AG that I am not likely to “run out of things to say” on the blog 🙂

    I need lessons in “cleaning house” as I am afraid that I am a disaster about it. I would much rather be outdoors and seem to always be able to talk myself into doing chores outside instead of cleaning the house…

    Hope that you have a good weekend!
    Anne

  5. Carol

    I really appreciate your blogs, Anne. I’ve learned about a lot of issues I wouldn’t otherwise know about and you always encourage and inspire.
    If it’s not miserable out, I too, would much rather do anything outside rather than clean house. If it’s miserable outside, then I’m too depressed to clean inside anyway!

    • Carol,

      Thank you for being such a loyal reader! I am so glad that you enjoy the blog.

      We are kindred spirits–always choosing the outdoors over housecleaning. I believe that my spirit is much happier with a “lived in” looking house 🙂

      Megan and I are looking forward to seeing you and Tehya soon. Those days of riding in the sandhills are also good for my soul!

      Anne

Leave a Reply

