Digging In the Dirt…

I have always loved digging in the dirt.  Although I grew up in the city, my dad is an avid hunter and we spent many of my childhood weekends in the Lake Okeechobee area hunting on Florida ranch land for quail, ducks and dove.

My brother and I, many many years ago out at the "hunting camp"...

My brother and I, many many years ago out at the “hunting camp”…

When Matt and I moved to Nebraska, my one condition on the move was that I wanted a house “in the country” where I could have lots of room to have animals and gardens.  Our house is positioned on the edge of one of Matt’s farms and sits on about five acres.

My two horses lay claim to a large portion of those acres, but I still have plenty of room to experiment and grow things.  This spring has been mentally challenging for me because it has been too cold to garden.  Our trees are only now starting to bud and my summer perennials are barely peaking their brave heads above ground (the tulips and daffodils perished in a snow storm several weeks ago).  My fingers have been itching to play in the dirt…DSC05280

On Sunday, we had temperatures in the low sixties so I herded up my free labor and headed outdoors to do some gardening chores.  My girls always complain a little bit as we get started, but it does not take long for my older ones to get excited about transplanting and clearing out the flower gardens.

Transplanting lilies...

Transplanting lilies…

They seem to have inherited my love for digging in the dirt and making things grow…

In addition to my perennial flowers taking the plunge above the soil, my rhubarb and asparagus are coming up.  It will not be long before it is time to get the colder season annual vegetables in (it was 28 degrees Saturday morning so not quite yet!).  This year we are doing a combination vegetable garden with my  mother-in-law and the girls are in charge of weeding 🙂

Dividing our Irises...

Dividing out and replanting Irises…

It renews my soul to dig in the dirt.  It fuels my optimism to watch new life grow in my gardens.  It brings a smile to my face to watch my daughters learn the combination of care and just a little magic which brings beauty to our yard and vegetables to our table.

Even while we garden and water, she still dreams about that great tasting steak that will go along with her vegetables :)

Even while we garden and water, she still dreams about that great tasting steak that will go along with her vegetables 🙂

We topped off the afternoon by finding the first toad of the year.  Karyn seemed to spend more time playing with it than helping with the gardens...I guess that is the joy of being the baby of the family!

We topped off the afternoon by finding the first toad of the year. Karyn seemed to spend more time playing with it than helping with the gardens…I guess that is the joy of being the baby of the family!

Is it warm enough to get your gardens going for the growing season?

6 Comments

Filed under Family, General, Sustainable Spring

6 responses to “Digging In the Dirt…

  1. Bobbi

    My flowers and vegetable plants are living it up in my garage still! On the few nice days I carry them outside before I leave for the office and put them back inside at night! Maybe this weekend they will find a home in the garden.

    • Last Saturday morning they were sure happier in your garage! Spring will truly come sometime, or maybe we’ll just go straight from winter to summer 🙂

      It’s great to hear from you Bobbi,
      Anne

  2. Carol

    We’ve been trying to relandscape our flower beds to make them more orderly and less work to weed. (It’s been many years since I’ve had free labor at my house and I sure miss it!) Jim has been helping me diligently with this project, however. We’re moving some things around, taking some things out and adding some new plants and shrubs. We wanted to start Saturday, but just couldn’t brave the cold! Sunday we made a good start and Monday night we moved 4 roses and planted 2 of the 6 we’re planning to add. Our bodies were glad for a rain delay tonight!
    I did put cold season veggies in nearly a month ago and some of them are starting to sprout, but believe it or not, we actually got enough rain and snow to make deep grooves in those garden beds!

    • Hi Carol. Great to hear from you! Yes, it has been a strange and cold spring. I’m glad to hear that Jim is trying to fill in as your “free labor” 🙂 You’ll have to get Tehya to help the next time she comes to visit!

      Take care,
      Anne

  3. eg bryant

    Yes, it’s warm enough here in TN, but it’s quite soggy out. Lots of rain. We’re 12+ inches over the average.

  4. Rauza, Sikandra Fort, Radhasoami Satsang, Fatehpur Sikri, plus Akbar’s Tomb. Next, drinking beer came in at ten percent followed by hard liquor, which was ranked at the full retail price. Copyright c 2013 Freelance Press Network There are definitely many vacation options available today that cater to a localized wine store.

Leave a Reply

