25 Years…

Wednesday Wisdom 🙂


Inspiration this week comes from 1 Corinthians 13: 1-7

“If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it, but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing. Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.

Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”


A good friend read this scripture passage 25 years ago at our wedding. Back then, I think the words in the reading were an “ideal” that I strived for, but did not really understand. I knew in my heart that I loved Matt and he loved me. However,  I’m pretty sure that neither of us truly realized the value of a love like what is described above. I’m certain that I had no real idea how to live it out.

I believe that God brings people into our lives to help us grow. I was 18 when I met Matt, and we’ve spent more than a quarter of a century growing together. We’ve got a lot of stories – some that make us laugh and some that make us cry. But, we’ve embraced it all together and I cannot think of a greater blessing than getting to “do life” with him.

I could say a lot of things, but I think the Apostle Paul said it best. Love is the cornerstone, the evidence, the essence of God’s purpose for our lives. It is sometimes hard, but so are all things that hold meaning in life. Love makes the difference. It allows us to faithfully endure together.  There is abundant hope to be found in that. The kind of hope that inspires perseverance ❤️

Today, I am simply thankful for the love that Jesus puts in our hearts each morning to share. And, I pray that God will bring each of my girls a soulmate who will complete them and inspire them to start each day by looking up to receive the Grace that enables precious love to bloom 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Wednesday Wisdom

6 responses to “25 Years…

  1. Lyn zolman

    So full of joy and love!
    Thank you

  2. Roger Hunt

    What a great read! Love seeing your wedding picture. I can surely see the Ashley Grace resemblance. You make such a beautiful couple. May God bless you with many more years together. ❤❤

  3. Becky Saddler

    What a beautiful wedding you had! None of us knew in the beginning what that passage meant, but overtime we begin to understand more and more. John and I celebrated 51 this year. We can’t imagine how we got here so fast and yet here we are. I pray you will have that many and beyond! Thank you for the reminder to love!

  4. DEBORAH ALLEN Wylde Katz

    Congratulations You are truly an inspiration!!

  5. Cassie Foley Glover

    I remember your wedding so well. Congrats on 25. May you have 125 more!

  6. Kevin & Terri Carstensen

    Hi Anne,

    This is Terri Carstensen, from Iowa. We met many, many, many years ago at NCBA convention. I so enjoy your posts and the lessons of life!!! You are truly blessed with your writing and that you so graciously share with others.

    The reason for my reaching out is, I email to our church family three times a week a devotion. Is it OK to use your posts as one of my devotions or do you have a copyright on them/may we have your permission to email to our church family? We are a very small rural church and your posts everyone can relate to.

    Thank you for your time and consideration.

    In Christ’s work!!

    Terri

Leave a comment