F.E.A.R.

img_0176

I found this quote on Instagram a few weeks ago. My girls tease me that I am a quote nerd.  I proudly reply that my grandfather taught me long ago to appreciate the potent message delivered by a cleverly strung cluster of words 😉

While I did not personally coin this particular acronym, it well describes my experiences in 2016.

No one can claim immunity from fear, but fear only defines us if we chose to allow it.   

Fear of the unknown provides one of my greatest personal challenges.  I am a stalwart creature of habit, and I like to be in control.  As a result, my decision last summer to close the feed yard left me terrified. Over the course of 2016, I discovered that a decision takes on an entirely new level of enormity when it involves altering a 45 year old business.

The mental process of defining the cause of fear provides a critical survival practice for me.  While I may occasionally wish that I could forget everything and run; the act of facing the challenge ultimately provides the courage to rise above it. As I reflect on 2016, I acknowledge the personal struggle that marked most of the year.

I end this time period proud of my decisions and the actions that resulted from them.  2017 will bring change; however, I stayed true to my core values and consequently can look with both excitement as well as confidence on into the future.

Sherry Bunting did a wonderful job “telling my story” in a recent article in the Progressive Cattlemen magazine entitled As Will Feed Closes, Reflecting On Twenty Years In the Feed Yard.  You can read it by clicking here.

familypicturefall2016

Happy New Year to you and your loved ones! 

May 2017 inspire you to face everything and rise…

2 Comments

Filed under Chronicles of a Retiring Feed Yard Boss Lady, Feed Yard Foodie "In The News", General

2 responses to “F.E.A.R.

  1. Anne,
    You succeed in whatever you do. Your drive, commitment, kindness, and fearlessness drive you to be a wonderful person. 2017 will be great for you because you will carry your core values and wonderful personality with you.

    I love the new family photo 🙂 it is just great! Love the article too 🙂

    Happy New Year my friend!

Leave a Reply

