Making Lemonade Out Of Lemons…

My favorite farmer gave me a diamond ring on my 20th birthday — a beautiful single solitaire with a thin gold band.  I loved that ring.  I loved it because Matt chose it for me.  I loved it because it represented the promise of tomorrow while verifying the love of today.

I wore the ring all of the time – for 21 years.  I remember being heartsick when the hospital made me take it off when my first two daughters were born.  I remember laughing when my finger was so swollen when Karyn was born that they had to leave it on and just put tape around it…

annemattbale2.jpg

Matt and I will celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in a few days.  About a month ago, he asked me if I wanted “something pretty” to commemorate the two decades of marriage.  I told him “no”, that I had everything that I needed.

About a week after our conversation, an accident happened while I was shipping cattle to Tyson.  As my cowboy and I brought the 1400# steers up the alleyway to load on the semi-truck, one of them kicked a gate into my left hand.  I reacted quickly, but my engagement ring was bent beyond repair.  I’m still not really sure of the details – I tend to get into a “zone” while shipping cattle – but we successfully got all of the boys onto the bus with my engagement ring being the only casualty.

My heart hurt a bit when I showed Matt the annihilated ring.  His response was classic

“Anne, at least it was the ring and not your finger.”

He has always had a knack for putting things into perspective.  It is one of the many reasons that I love him. Over the last twenty years, we laughed together, cried together, lost our tempers together, and found peace together.  Through it all, we have learned that the secret to success is the ability to make lemonade out of lemons.

annemattring2.jpg

  • I have a beautiful new gold ring to showcase the gorgeous diamond that Matt gave to me 21 years ago.
  • I have a functional finger to put the ring on.
  • I have a loving husband who inspires me to see the beauty in life each and every day.
  • Together we have built a meaningful life on the farm to share with our three greatest blessings.

Keeping things in perspective is likely one of the most important life skills. It takes effort and faith, patience and time.  Lucky for you all, Emily had just begun her visit when the cattle shipment incident occurred.  Her role as “guest blogger” provided just enough time for me to make that lemon into lemonade…

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Farming, General

6 responses to “Making Lemonade Out Of Lemons…

  1. Dawn

    Twenty three years ago, I lost my diamond from my engagement ring in a pile of manure at Eastern National Livestock show while scooping cow poop. Years later I bent my wedding ring catching it on something in the barn. I had an anniversary ring I wore for a long time and then finally got everything repaired a few years ago. I had another ring cut off my finger due to swelling from an injury. My husband never wore his wedding ring because he is an electrician. It will be 37 years in August that we have been married. I see now they have silicone wedding rings for people that work with their hands. Seems like a really good idea.

    • Thank you, Dawn — I loved your comment when I read it last week. Brought about a smile and a chuckle at a time that I needed it!

      Congrats on 37 years. Well done🙂
      Anne

  2. An great perspective and beautiful new ring. I’m glad you have a new/old mixed symbol of so many years of marriage. Happy 20th anniversary that is a marvelous milestone to meet nowadays and something to be very pround of. Congrats!

  3. theranchwifechronicles

    Happy Anniversary, Anne and Matt!

Leave a Reply

