An Aggie In Nebraska…

Howdy!

My name is Emily and I have the privilege to be a guest on the Feedyard Foodie’s blog this week! I am originally from rural Connecticut but am currently residing in Texas. Both my Fiancé, Garrett, and I are recent graduates of Texas A&M University (just two weeks ago, actually!) with our Bachelor’s in Animal Science and are both currently pursuing a Master’s in Ruminant Nutrition.

TAMUKlebergBrandHallway

A ruminant refers to an animal with a four compartment stomach (ie. cattle, sheep, or goats), however, both of us are specifically studying the beef cattle sector. Our ultimate goal in the future is to start our own cow-calf operation in Texas. A cow-calf operation essentially raises the animals that will later go to the feedlot.

So how did I end up in Cozad, Nebraska?

As Anne mentioned in her previous post, I had the privilege of hosting her and Megan at Texas A&M in the fall after inviting her for a speaking engagement through the Animal Science Department. Every feed yard utilizes a ruminant nutritionist to make sure the cattle are being fed properly and nutritional requirements are being met. Knowing that I was going to be studying in this field, it seemed fitting to come visit the feed yard for a few weeks over the summer to get an inside view on how the operation is run, even if it isn’t the exact path I plan to take.

The thought behind my visit was that it’s always worth taking advantage of an opportunity to learn.

There is a good chance that my future career will somehow relate back to the feed yard, especially if it includes a cow-calf operation responsible for filling empty pens.

The Feedyard Foodie Family graciously accepted me into their home for three weeks and I have been learning everything from the business side of the operation to running various equipment at the feedyard. As far as the cattle go, we’ve processed, transported, and shipped cattle and will be receiving new calves into the yard next week.

Every day has been something new to do and another skill-set to learn. I’ve even had the opportunity to learn about the various farming sectors in Cozad from planting to harvest and of course the town, and family’s love of sports has led me to a new insight into both the track and swimming season! Anne has been a great mentor sharing her experiences in the industry, as a manager, and making time for what’s important as small business-owning parents. It has been quite the adventure and I look forward to sharing more about my journey as I move into my final week with the family!

Emilypost1.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under Family, General, Nutrition (cattle and human)

5 responses to “An Aggie In Nebraska…

  1. Jeff

    Emily, the next time you see Uncle Dave, mention in passing that your heard Einstein was a communist. It’s well worth it.

    • We never had the Einstein chat, Jeff, but I think she got a few glimpses of the possibilities over Sunday night dinner🙂

      Hope that you all are well,
      Anne

  2. theranchwifechronicles

    Emily,
    Enjoy your time with Anne and her family, as well as the great state of Nebraska!

    I love and agree with your comment about taking advantage of opportunities to learn. Life long learning is a wonderful mind set.

    • Thank you for reaching out to Emily and leaving her a comment, Robyn. I appreciate it🙂

      Hope that all is well to the north!
      Anne

  3. Pingback: An Aggie’s Time in Cozad… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

