The Great Barn Quilt…

Business took me to Pender, Nebraska late this summer for a meeting.  I drove in the night before and arrived before sunset, so I put on my sneakers and went for a run around town.  Pender greeted me with a gorgeous display of “Barn Quilts”, and I left town the next afternoon enamored with the idea of a community wide Barn Quilt project.

Not long after my trip, I learned that my home county planned to participate in a Barn Quilt tour.  I quickly signed my favorite blonde cowgirl and her grandma up for a “how to” class.  Megan has loved to draw and paint patterns of shapes since she was old enough to hold a pen.

I believe in empowering my kids — coming up with projects that I know will fit their personalities — and then letting them fly.  No matter what the project, their work often leaves me in awe.

megsign3.jpg

We hung Megan’s first barn quilt at the feed yard on Saturday.  It is an 8′ X 8′ sign easily seen from HWY 30.  Anyone that knows Meg will see her personality in the sign, and I am confident that it will bring smiles to the faces of many travelers.

Apart from consulting with her engineer Daddy on the quilt layout (geometry) and spacing, Megan completed the project on her own.  I know that I am a biased mom, but the sign is just AWESOME!  I am looking forward to Barn Quilt #2 which is currently in the making and will hang on the shop/barn behind my house, and Barn Quilt #3 which will adorn our farm office building in downtown Cozad.

megsign2.jpg

I hope that Megan’s signs will be an inspiration to others in my community to participate.

  • How wonderful would it be to have each business in downtown Cozad hang a barn quilt in their window?
  • How beautiful would it be for homeowners all around town to place them in their front yards?
  • How magical would it be for groups of young people in Cozad to make signs for their neighbors and those that are unable to make their own?
  • How awesome would it be for area farmers to hang large barn quilts on their barns and shop buildings all through the countryside to showcase pride in our heritage!

For more information on making a Barn Quilt, please contact the Cozad Chamber of Commerce or visit with Julie Geiger at the Prairie Point Junction quilt store in downtown Cozad.

What an inspirational way to showcase rural America!

 

 

13 Comments

Filed under General, Rural Communities

13 responses to “The Great Barn Quilt…

  1. Ann Smith

    Good job Megan! We look forward to participating in the project. The added color around the area will be fun!

  2. wellsfarm

    Our county (Rock County WI) has the 4-H kids helping with this. They have been involved in painting a number of them.

    • That is awesome! We are working to get our Junior High and High School art students involved to make quilts for the area businesses. I am excited to see where the project leads us. It is always fun to get kids involved in these types of projects.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!
      Anne

  3. Our middle school’s art department in Reedsburg, Wisconsin, also does this as part of an “art club” project they have developed.

    • That is wonderful, Janice. Our art teachers in Cozad are excited to get their kids involved. I am looking forward to seeing where the kids go with the project. Megan is fired up and ready to contribute🙂

      Merry Christmas to you!
      Anne

  4. Mary

    I have been doing it for the senior parks in Arizona. Sure showcases the art and the house numbers.

    • Good for you, Mary! That is wonderful. I am excited to see how the project “spruces” up our town and surrounding farm ground. I agree that they are a beautiful way to create unique character around the countryside.

      Merry Christmas to you!
      Anne

  5. I LOVE it! What a cool barn quilt. I have seen them before and they are always so pretty and lovely to see. Megan did an excellent job she should be proud. I know you are🙂 I can’t wait to see her other ones.

    • Thank you, Kim. She is pretty proud of it🙂 I will be sure to put pictures of the other ones up when they are finished. Matt has *asked* Megan to be allowed to help her on the next one (which he designed) — It will be fun to see what they come up with together!

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!
      Anne

  6. Dave

    We travel from Wyoming to Minnesota to visit our grandchildren and in the interest of time travel the interstate as we “fly by” Cozad. Traveling the secondary highways, such as US30, is a great way to see NE and WY and actually learn more about the culture of the country. Now we know how to actually find you!
    Don’t be surprised if we stop by your office in Cozad.

    • We’d love to have you stop by the farm, Dave! If you get off of the interstate at Gothenburg and travel on HWY 30 east toward Cozad, you will see the quilt from the road.

      I enjoy traveling the back roads visiting ranches that sell us cattle. Our countryside is gorgeous, and the trips are always so peaceful.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!
      Anne

Leave a Reply

