Pass the Peanut Butter…

I have enjoyed a peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat bread and a banana for breakfast every day since the 22nd of September. I eat the peanut butter sandwich after I read bunks and exercise calves, and before I check daily cattle health. I eat the banana after the daily health check is completed late-morning.

Reading bunks and determining the daily feeding plan for my cattle begins at 6:00am.  It does not matter if it is Sunday, Halloween or the Thanksgiving holiday that we will celebrate next week – the feed yard day starts at 6:00, and there are thousands of animals that look forward to the morning routine. We start early because my cattle have taught me that a disciplined breakfast schedule benefits their health and comfort, and consequently reduces the environmental footprint of my farm.

annecattlecheck.jpg

September 22nd provided the first day of the “fall run of calves” at the feed yard. Each year, the extra cowboy chores that I take on during this time period wreak havoc with my breakfast choices. Since Graves Disease necessitated the destruction of my thyroid gland on my 33rd birthday, I am dependent on a pill to provide my body with the thyroid hormones that allow me to function. The thyroid pill is a bit picky, and (for my body) works best if I take it on an empty stomach. This means no breakfast for 30-45 minutes after I start my day by taking the thyroid pill.

Even though I enjoy breakfast, I enjoy sleeping more. I leave the house within 10 minutes of crawling out of bed. The result: a necessitated delayed breakfast after starting my day at the feed yard. During September, October, November, and the first half of December my mornings are so busy that I have to eat on the go. A peanut butter sandwich and a banana provide an easy solution to the challenge. Although it lacks diversity, it does start my day with protein, whole grains, and fruit.

By the time that Christmas rolls around, my pallet cries for a new breakfast flavor – almost as much as my body longs for a morning reprieve from the daily 5:35 wake up call. Such is the life of a feed yard boss lady in the fall months of the year. It’s a good thing that my freezer is full of home grown beef so that I can ensure that dinner promises more flavor and satisfaction than breakfast🙂

BeefStripSteaksandMushroomKabobs I really prefer a beef meal where I can pass on the peanut butter!

6 Comments

Filed under Foodie Work!, General

6 responses to “Pass the Peanut Butter…

  1. theranchwifechronicles

    Anne,
    Hope your weaning process is going well and the calves are adjusting to the feed yard. It’s nice to hear the bawling to signal a new season on the ranch. It’s also nice when the weaning process is done as it means calves are on to eating, growing and thriving!

    No snow for us! After a weekend with temps in the 60’s the weather pattern for this week will be a bit chill. They are talking cooler temps everyday until we get to a high in the low 30’s and overnight temps in the low teens. We could use some moisture, but not a snow storm.

    Hope you have a great week.

    • Thank you, Robyn. I always look forward to the fall because our weather is so beautiful, but I also look forward to moving past the weaning process as it makes a caregiver tired… We weaned fewer calves this year at the feed yard as I am really trying to push my ranchers to wean at home (like you all do). However, some of them do not have the resources to wean their entire herd at home, so I end up weaning part and they end up weaning part. It still added up to about 1000 calves to be weaned at the feed yard, but the other half of the cattle were able to be weaned at home and will come to the feed yard later this winter. I have found over the years that good partnerships involve a “give and take” relationship where compromise allows for everyone to be successful. My crew does an awesome job being caregivers and each fall I am very proud of the comfort level that we are able to offer during the “fall run”. This year the weather has mostly cooperated with only a couple of wet/cold/snowy events which helps tremendously.

      Great to hear from you.
      Take care!
      Anne

  2. davebrown9

    Eating peanut butter almost daily may never become as problematic for you as it was for me. http://www.berkeleydailyplanet.com/issue/2014-10-03/article/42529?headline=Perils-of-Peanuts–David-Brown-Kalispell-MT The good news is, back in 1970 a peanut researcher developed began to cross breed high oleic peanuts. By 1987 he had succeeded in developing a high oleic acid peanut that was very low in omega-6 linoleic acid. As of 2014, 24 % of the U.S. peanut crop was of the high oleic acid variety. http://www.realnatural.org/high-oleic-peanuts-and-peanuts-in-general-reduce-body-fat/ Unfortunately, FDA regulations forbid the listing of individual polyunsaturated fats on food labels. However, the voluntarily listing of monounsaturated and total polyunsaturated fats is allowed. It is hoped that eventually all peanut butter sold in the U.S. will be high oleic peanut butter. At present, we can’t tell.

    • Hi Dave, thanks for the information and the link. I had not seen that info before.

      I would term myself as a limited peanut butter user just because I don’t care for the taste that much. I start my days in the fall with a peanut butter sandwich because it is an easy way to get some protein and whole grains when I have to “eat on the go”. By the time that I eat a breakfast peanut butter sandwich for 2 and 1/2 months, I am ready to not see any more peanut butter until the next fall! I generally would classify myself as a “eat a diverse diet with everything in moderation” with the exception to that rule being that I eat at least one serving of beef per day. I like to eat what I grow, and Graves Disease left me with a need to eat iron rich foods in order to ward off chronic anemia.

      I appreciate the thoughts.
      Best,
      Anne

      • Charles Flanagan

        I have eaten a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and sometimes a banana for breakfast for over 30 years. And for the same reason you do. I worked on a large dairy and one of my duties was to look at all the mangers before they were cleaned out and new feed put out. That way we could adjust the quantity of feed if necessary. After that was done I would grab my sandwich and eat it over a period of time at my desk. Not very exciting, but it seems to agree with me.

  3. Bobbi

    I think I probably need to do a better job at the whole breakfast thing. If I eat shortly after waking up I feel sick most of the day. So I tend to not eat right away. The problem is by the time I can eat without feeling ill I am at the office and things are busy so I tend to forget to eat. I maybe the only person who always has saltine crackers on my desk for a breakfast “snack”!
    Hope your fall run was smooth! Our calves weaned really well and hit the bunks running this year! Always a good feeling to have them weaned and eating well.

Leave a Reply

