The Story of India…

My favorite blonde cowgirl and I found a surprise at the feed yard early Sunday morning.

indiamega.jpg

It is no secret that our family and our farm crew are known for being animal lovers. The need to care and nourish runs strong, and that provides for success on the farm.

When Megan and I discovered “India” Sunday morning, I did not realize the story that this little kitten could tell. As the day unfolded, my emotions ran from joy to sadness to anger and then back to joy.

Saturday afternoon someone threw India out the car window while traveling down one of Cozad’s main roads. Luckily she landed in a grass patch by the local softball fields and frantically climbed a tree. Even luckier, one of my favorite farmer’s crew witnessed the incident while driving past in a tractor and was able to turn around and rescue the scared kitten.

indiatreea.jpg

He brought the kitten to the feed yard to find it a home.

Whether she remains at the feed yard to be spoiled in the office, or takes the short trip down the road to the Feed Yard Foodie house, India will be part of a family that cares.

There is nothing like a baby animal to bring an instant smile and a moment of joy. The needy little face and the innocent desire to be loved pull at my heart always inspiring me to care. Our house is full of animals – most of whom have been rescued. I believe that providing for God’s creatures is the right thing to do.

indiaannea.jpg

It brings me tremendous sadness that not everyone shares my love of animals. It brings me great anger that there are some who also do not share my feeling of responsibility toward them.

It is shameful to neglect and abuse animals – they rely on us for survival and it is our responsibility to care. India’s story has a happy ending because people took the time to care – to right a terrible wrong—and provide a needed home.

Please take the time to care and be a responsible pet owner.

3 Comments

Filed under Animal Welfare, General

3 responses to “The Story of India…

  1. Sue Fan Ferguson

    And to think your mother wouldn’t let me give you a kitten when you were a little girl–you’ve come a long way!

    • I got lucky and married someone who loves cats 😊. Mom does a good job of tolerating them when she comes to visit!

      Hope that all is well!
      Anne

  2. midwest

    You are angels for taking in the kitty. Those people who dumped her are disgusting; think how they treat humans!

Leave a Reply

