The Traditional Career Mom…

Earlier this week I traveled to San Antonio to attend meetings at the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Convention. My favorite farmer and I drove west Tuesday afternoon to watch our favorite basketball playing teenager and her team defeat the Ogallala Indians, before turning around and heading east to Grand Island to get ahead of a storm that moved in late that night.

Despite the snow, we landed in Texas (just a few hours delayed) on Wednesday and began the marathon of meetings that makes up NCBA’s annual convention. In addition to being the boss lady at the feed yard, I serve in a volunteer capacity as the Region 9 Director to the Nebraska Beef Council; and as a result, I serve on the National Federation of State Beef Councils working to enhance the image of beef to customers both in the United States and abroad.

Beef_1b_nov-22

In addition to the normal array of meetings, this convention will be a special time for me as I will officially receive Beef Magazine’s 2014 Trailblazer Award Friday morning. That same day, my favorite teenager and her grandmother will travel to the Governor’s mansion in Lincoln to discover whether or not she won the Nebraska Voice of Democracy Essay contest – Leaving my favorite blondes at home with their beloved Defa (grandpa) and a whole multitude of animal chores.

Our house seems to be a revolving door. I left three loads of laundry (clean but yet to be sorted) in my living room, and a full (but clean) dishwasher. While I am assuming that the girls will put away (or at least use) the clean dishes in the dishwasher during my time in Texas, I am pretty confident that the clean clothes will still be in the living room waiting to be sorted. Just a short distance away from those clean clothes sits the ever growing pile of dirty clothes that will be waiting to be washed when I arrive home (hopefully in time to watch another Lady Haymaker basketball game) on Saturday afternoon.

I am one of millions of women who work tirelessly to balance family, chores, and a meaningful career. We put ourselves last on the “priority scale” and unselfishly give to those whom we love, as well as to the causes that we treat as vocations yet casually refer to as jobs. We do the weekly juggling act by focusing on each day and refusing to let the challenges of the future daunt our enthusiasm.

familypicture.jpg

We are Wives – Moms – Boss Ladies – Philanthropists – Mentors – and Maids.

Our days revolve around others, and our most precious goal is to make a positive difference.

We are traditional career moms.

Did I mention that Saturday is my 40th birthday? Yikes!

15 Comments

Filed under Family, Feed Yard Foodie "In The News"

15 responses to “The Traditional Career Mom…

  1. I received a text shortly after this posted updating me on the “home front”. My favorite teenager reports that she has both sorted and put away the clean clothes, as well as emptied the dishwasher and done another load of wash 🙂

    Good job, AGs!

  2. debnus

    Thank you. Just thank you.

  3. Congrats Anne on your well deserved award! I can relate to your busy life. Happy 40th!

  4. Enjoy your time in Texas and Happy Birthday!
    Laurie – Country Link

    • Thank you, Laurie! Convention is always an interesting time — lots of people and good discussions.

      I am trying to have a good attitude towards my birthday — my favorite farmer is reminding me that I am simply turning 29 (one more time)…

      Best,
      Anne

  5. Robert Gwilt Liberty,Indiana

    Happy Birthday and congrats on the Beef Trailer Blazer award.

  6. Anne, I really appreciate the excellent example you are to all career moms. You really do it all! Happy 40th birthday!

    • Carol — Great to hear from you! I hope that you and Jim are well and getting through the Wyoming winter. I am ready for spring!

      Thank you for your constant support. I really appreciate it.

      Best,
      Anne

  7. Rex

    You have accomplished so much, I have difficulty believing you are just 40. We are all so very glad you were born.

Leave a Reply

