The 12 Days Of (Christmas) Fitness…

I have a habit of making up words to songs that I enjoy.  Over the years, my family has picked up this same tendency which ensures much laughter in our daily lives.

Our family also has a habit of fitness.  Matt and I are lifelong athletes, and keeping physically fit is important to us.  We often sing when we exercise — sometime the correct words and sometimes our own funny remake of a song…

familytree2.jpg

My favorite blonde cowgirl took her daddy to the community wellness center a couple of days before Christmas.  After running a bit, they did a circuit exercise set that Megan devised to the old favorite song, The Twelve Days of Christmas.  Unfortunately, I missed out on the fun as I was tied up working at the feed yard, but I have thoroughly enjoyed the retelling of the session and figured that I would share Megan’s Twelve Days of (Christmas) Fitness with each one of you.

  • On the first day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 1 Pull Up
  • On the second day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 2 Knee Curls
  • On the third day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 3 Single Bounces with a Heavy Jump Rope
  • On the fourth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 4 Tosses with the Medicine Ball
  • On the fifth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 5 Wheel Rolls
  • On the sixth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 6 Sit Ups with a 10# Medicine Ball
  • On the seventh day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to  me: 7 Step Throughs with a Jump Rope
  • On the eighth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 8 Jumping Jacks
  • On the ninth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 9 Push Ups
  • On the tenth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 10 Lunges
  • On the eleventh day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 11 Toe Touches (with straight legs)
  • On the twelfth day of fitness, my favorite farmer gave to me: 12 Double Bounces with the Jump Rope

If you remember, the song goes through each day of Christmas repeatedly as it goes from 1-12.  I am happy to report that by the end of 12 pull ups, 22 Knee Curls, 30 Single Bounces with a Heavy Jump Rope, 36 Tosses with the Medicine Ball, 40 Wheel Rolls, 54 Sit Ups with a 10# Medicine Ball, 54 Step Throughs with a Jump Rope, 40 Jumping Jacks, 36 Push Ups, 30 Lunges, 22 Toe Touches, and 24 Double Bounces with the Jump Rope that my favorite farmer was breathing hard enough he was no longer singing out loud 🙂

I hope that each of you found some time last week for moments of laughter, peace, and share memories.  Each Christmas with my family reminds me of how truly blessed I am.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, General

One response to “The 12 Days Of (Christmas) Fitness…

  1. happy New Year to you and the family, I have enjoyed this year of your blog and thank you for another interesting year. We have enjoyed the holidays and had our grandson and his fiancé ( both military, Army) here for three weeks. We are proud of these two young people and like to brag a bit at times. See you next year. Ellie

Leave a Reply

