Jury Duty…

My feedyard crew consists of three guys and myself. Together we care for close to 3000 animals as well as the business part of the farm. During the busy fall run, the amount of work comes close to overwhelming us. By Thanksgiving, there is a light at the end of the tunnel but our days are still very busy.

This week we have an additional challenge because my cowboy was called to Jury Duty. This is actually the second time this fall he has been called. He still comes to work at 6:00 to help us start the day, but by 8:00 he is on his way to the courthouse.

coffmancalf1a

His list of responsibilities at the yard consists of: daily checking of cattle health, shipping cattle to the packing plant, being a member of the cattle vaccinating/processing crew, cleaning water tanks and an array of other things. When he is gone, the rest of us fill in the gaps.

My crew is a cross between a family and a well-oiled machine. We make an awesome team. It is hard when one of us is gone โ€“ especially on a holiday week in the fallโ€ฆ

Fortunately my favorite blonde cowgirl starts her Thanksgiving vacation from school today. She will be spending her time at the feed yard helping me to check cattle health and working cattle. Her sunny disposition will keep us all smiling, and her cattle savvy will lessen the work load.

megchute2.jpg

To say that she is a blessing would be an understatement. She may well be quickly approaching angel status ๐Ÿ™‚

This week our family wishes each of you a Happy Thanksgiving — Take a moment to appreciate your lifeโ€™s blessings and say a special word of thanks for all of the farm kids in our country who give of themselves to help bring food to your dinner table.

We are indeed all blessed.

15 Comments

Filed under CAFO, Family, General

15 responses to “Jury Duty…

  1. Jake Derr

    I love that you value your team of employees as much as you do the cattle you care for, Anne! Other employers would do well to emulate your example.

    • Jake,

      My farm would not run without my crew and I truly value the sacrifices that they make in order to properly care for our animals. They make me very proud. Two of my three guys have worked at the feed yard for almost 30 years and I’ve been there with them for the last 18. We are very much a family.

      I appreciate your nice comments — you give me quite a compliment.

      Best,
      Anne

  2. theranchwifechronicles

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Anne!

  3. Terry Hutton

    Anne, I am new to the cattle business here in Texas and have learned a lot from my daughter and son-in-law who have been in the business for a long time raising cattle near Waco, Texas. I just recently found your blog and enjoy it very much. I also learn a lot from it. Thanks for going to the effort to put this out and I want to wish you and your family and friends a Happy Thanks Giving from our family here in Texas.

    • Thank you, Terry. I really appreciate your kind words as well as you giving of your time to read the blog! Welcome to the “beef family” — it is a great one to be a part off.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours as well!

      Best,
      Anne

  4. Jeff

    There’s a few valuable lessons at work here.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Yes, Jeff — I agree.

      I hope that you all had a good T-day. I voted to smoke a beef brisket on the Traeger, but was outnumbered by my family and ate turkey instead…

      Anne

  5. Happy thanksgiving to you!

  6. Happy Thanksgiving to your family and crew. I am thankful for all you have taught me and for your blogging friendship ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Kim. I appreciate your kind words and blogging friendship as well.

      I am hoping to get AG to write another blog post on the chickens soon — she was supposed to last week but got sick instead… Fortunately she rallied and was better by Thursday afternoon, so was able to have Thanksgiving dinner with us. We went out and cut a Christmas tree today which is my very favorite family tradition ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hope that you enjoyed the snow as much as your pups did!
      Best,
      Anne

      • So happy you got your tree and AG is better. I hope you all enjoy decorating it together. We did enjoy the snow and it was neat getting the tree in the snow ๐Ÿ™‚
        Kim

  7. It is good to know you are teaching your girls how to work, I think farming children learn work ethics much better then most kids. My grandchildren work with there dad when there is no school and it can get really hot in Florida working in green houses. They have there free time too but are learning to work for things they want. I wish you a happy Thanksgiving, will it be turkey or beef?

    • I voted for smoked beef brisket, Ellie, but got outnumbered by my family…We ate turkey ๐Ÿ™‚ I am hoping to win the battle at Christmas and cook a Prime Rib!

      I hope that you all had a Happy Thanksgiving.

      Best,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

