Local Food…

Although I spent my formative years in a large city, I am a small town girl at heart.  I fell in love with rural America as a young girl fly fishing the trout streams in Wyoming with my family.  Today, I raise my own daughters on the beautiful Nebraska prairie.  My adopted state boasts 77,300 square miles of land, 1,869,000 million people and 4,330,000 million cattle.  Agriculture is the single largest industry in Nebraska — quite simply, we are in the business of growing food.

cattlepasture2014.jpg

I classify my beef as locally grown.  Most of my cattle are born and raised in Nebraska, and harvested at the Tyson Foods facility about 20 miles from my farm.  They are pasture raised on ranches and grain finished at my feed yard— with the feed that they eat also being grown in Nebraska.

While the vast majority of my cattle are traced from birth to harvest on the prairies of the Cornhusker State, the beef that they make likely travels a significant distance before it lands on your dinner table.  Nebraska produces much more beef than its local population could possibly consume.  Our state has the land and the resources necessary to raise cattle, but not nearly enough people to eat all of the beef that they produce. As a result, we export it out of the state for the benefit of others.

annemattbeef1

My beef is locally grown, but globally consumed.

Although it is a personal goal to one day be able to market and trace my beef as a branded product all the way to the grocery store/restaurant, today the specific traceability of my beef ends at the packing plant.  A significant portion of my beef qualifies for the Certified Angus Beef brand, so you may have the good fortune of eating Anne’s Beef if you purchase beef with the CAB logo. However, I cannot specifically tell you where the beef that is grain finished on my farm ends up (other than the one animal a year that ends up in my own freezer!).

G

The conversation revolving around local food is an interesting one.  While the origin of food obviously plays a key role in this discussion, I believe that perhaps the underlying topic is more one of trust toward the farmer that grows it.  The more local the food, the more likely you are to know the farmer that grew it — perhaps you even have the ability to visit the farm where the product is raised.

As our human population continues to concentrate in urban areas, food production will predominantly be limited to rural areas. This will, in particular, apply to beef production because cattle require larger expanses of land to grow.  The growing geographic distance from farms to urban dwellers will necessitate that food connections evolve virtually in order to meet the need for a connection between those that grow beef and those that eat it.

This calf was born on a ranch about 30 miles from my feed yard.  The white tag links the calf back to both the cow and the bull that were his parents...

This calf was born on a ranch about 30 miles from my feed yard. He is locally grown but his beef is likely exported out of Nebraska to more urban populations…

Perhaps the time has come to expand the definition of local food to include cattle that are raised locally, but the beef that they produce is shared globally.DSC03744

Most of you have never met me, do you trust me enough to grow your beef?

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under CAFO, General

7 responses to “Local Food…

  1. John Butler

    Enjoyed the positioning on this one

    John Butler Sent from my iPhone

    • Thanks John. It is an idea that I have been kicking around in my brain for quite a while now — It took me some time to get it put into a blog post. It is something that it important for all of us to think about.

      Best,
      Anne

    • Thanks, Bill. I am glad that you enjoyed it. It is an important topic that I think that we need to all have a good discussion about. I hope that it provides “food for thought” for those that read it.

      Best,
      Anne

  2. Katheryn

    Great article and of course I trust your beef!

  3. Very interesting article and thought provoking and of course I would eat your beef. I wish it was shipped overnight and we could order it. I like to know where my food comes from. We have lots of veggies grown here but most beef is shipped west to feed lots to finish.

Leave a Reply

