Chipotle Isn’t Any Fun To Write About…

Almost a month ago, a reader asked me to blog about Chipotle. While I have thought about what to write often during that time — the words have not easily transitioned onto paper. I have very definite feelings toward the restaurant chain and its CEO, Steve Ells. These feelings have precluded me from ever being a customer at any of the restaurants. I like to vote with my dollar.

I have a personal rule that before I write about a person or a topic, I must “walk a mile in their shoes” — searching for a level of understanding before I render a judgment. In this instance, the process has been terribly uncomfortable for me because the inherent negativity of Chipotle’s advertising campaign turns my stomach…

Chipotle isn’t any fun to write about because there is nothing positive to share in the story. The restaurant chain creates drama by distorting the story of food production, turning hypocrisy into dollars. It capitalizes on fear and distrust, making one disturbing and inaccurate statement after another simply to keep its brand name in the limelight.

I find that disgusting…

Rather than harp on a negative topic that depresses me, I would like to instead share a few thoughts on the topic of responsibly raised food.

MegShade1.jpg

When I look through my glass at the United States food production system, I see diversity in methods but a common thread of responsibility. I see hundreds of thousands of farmers who honor their land and care for their animals regardless of whether they choose to market their products as organic, grass fed or conventionally grown.

threegirls.jpg

I raise my children on a diverse farm where financial markets and long term goals of sustainability dictate the types of products that are grown.   The dedication to responsible food production is steadfast even as the ebb and flow of markets and natural resources dictate changes in farming methods.

My commitment to quality and responsibility at the feed yard where we raise conventional beef mirrors that same promise of quality that my favorite farmer makes to his crop farm where he grows both organic and conventionally raised animal feed. We are the same two people, yet we grow a diversity of food products in order to ensure that our farm is sustainable and prosperous over the long run.

Every product that leaves our farm is responsibly raised regardless of the label that it holds.

I believe in transparency in food production. That is the reason that I blog. I also believe that every American has a responsibility to look to farmers for the truth regarding where their food comes from. This conversation needs to be based on trust and respect, leaving out special interest groups that stand to gain by putting others down.

Finally, I believe that all farmers need to respect diversity in food production systems, recognizing that food can be responsibly raised using a vast array of management systems. Organic, grass fed, and conventionally raised food can all exist in harmony in order to give consumers the right to food choices.

 I choose to have faith in the United State’s food supply.

annemattbeef1

I don’t eat at Chipotle…

19 Comments

Filed under CAFO, Farming

19 responses to “Chipotle Isn’t Any Fun To Write About…

  1. Larry DeShon

    Thanks! Your caption under the last picture says it all for me! I agree!!!

  2. Thanks for answering the question and always providing truth and a well thought out and researched perspective. There are too many people out there wanting to close down things or go a certain way on bad information and a squawked perspective. I am glad to have somewhere to send people for the truth.

    • Thank you, Kim. I appreciate your support and am glad that you are such a loyal “blogging friend” and reader 🙂

      I agree with your sentiment, and hope that my writings somehow help navigate the journey of “where your beef comes from”. Love your term “squawked perspective” — I’m going to have to start using that one — it’s awesome!

      Anne

  3. Michele Rager

    YAY Anne…great job!!!

  4. heather smith

    Well written. I have sent letters to the home office as well. We raise a small Angus herd in Nebraska.

  5. Great post Anne! We certainly have a lot of diverse production practices within the beef community- all of which are designed to fit the resources of the environment and the surrounding market while striving to be responsible and sustainable!

  6. Johnny Stansell

    Great post. I am 100% organic in my gardening and I will NOT eat at Chipotle because of their remarks.

  7. Rex

    Great post Anne,
    Many years ago I was invited to invest in fund that included Chipotle stock. I declined explaining to the manager that there values were antagonistic to my core business. The next time I saw that fund, Chipotle was not one of the stocks they held. I doubt my comments made the difference, it was more likely a lack of performance compared to expectation.
    As you so well explain, there are very many good ways to raise beef or feed the world.

    • I agree, Rex. Glad to know that there are others out there that share my thoughts!

      Good to hear from you and hope that you all are getting some timely rains out west. After a fairly wet June, we were very dry in July, but just received 2″ between a couple of rains over the weekend — I am hoping that the country will hang on to “green” a little bit longer before it turns to “brown”!

      Best,
      Anne

  8. Johne706

    Hey there! I realize this is somewhat offtopic but I had to ask. bkfbecfeckkd

  9. Pingback: Blogging Reflections… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

