4th International Symposium on Beef Cattle Welfare…

Thoughtful Thursday

The journey in search of excellence has no end --- it is marked by a continuous dedication toward improvement.

The journey toward excellence has no end — it is marked by courage and the continuous dedication to improvement.

Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.

Winston Churchill

Today I take the stage as a speaker at the 4th International Symposium on Beef Cattle Welfare being held at Iowa State University.  While I am incredibly honored to be asked to stand up and speak, I am also looking forward to sitting down and listening.   With any luck I will come home smarter than I left… 

I truly believe that the search for excellence takes both types of courage…

10 Comments

Filed under Thoughtful Thursday

10 responses to “4th International Symposium on Beef Cattle Welfare…

  1. Todd schroeder

    Anne, good luck. I do not know anyone more qualified than you to bridge this subject. Have a great day

    • Thanks, Todd. I appreciate the compliment. It was a great conference and I enjoyed the experience. There are so many ways that we can all get smarter, and I enjoy that learning process.

      Best,
      Anne

  2. cowdoc

    Looking forward to your talk – I will be attending on line – seems our local internet crashed so I may be spending the entire day at the coffee shop!

  3. David Yates

    Anne, you well. Good to see the commercial end represented as well as academia. It takes both!

    • I agree, David. Together we get smarter through sharing ideas and determining practical application of science. It was a great conference, and gave me several new ideas to think about.

      Best,
      Anne

  4. Love the tree photo. I want to be under those trees right now. You will do great speaking and I look forward to hearing how it went and what you learned. 🙂
    – Kim

    • I love that photo too, Kim. Our pasture ground is a tremendous place of peace for me. The gravel road that takes you there is lined with beautiful trees and soothes me as I drive along it.

      The conference was great. I learned quite a bit and hope that my talk brought learning to others as well. I enjoy participating in those types of meetings although time restraints often keep me from getting there.

      Hope to get a blog post written about the conference sometime in the near future — it is always great to be surrounded by folks dedicated to beef animal welfare.

      Best,
      Anne

  5. Good Luck, Anne. Enjoy the symposium.

    • Thank you, Robyn! It was a great experience for me — lots of learning and sharing.

      Hope that all is well in South Dakota! The summer heat has finally descended upon us…

      Best,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

