Random Thoughts From the Farm…

The last two weeks have been a whirlwind at the Feed Yard Foodie Farm.  Nebraska enjoys 17 hours of daylight each day during the month of June, but the days still do not seem long enough to get everything finished…

In light of the organized chaos that has permeated our routine recently, I thought that I would share some random thoughts from the farm:

cattlepasture2014.jpg

1. I took two different groups of fall born calves to our grass pasture to graze for the summer months.  They are belly deep in grass and are likely pretty close to being in bovine heaven.

heatheraudit.jpg

2. The Feed Yard had a Progressive Beef internal audit conducted by the Quality Assurance Director of the Beef Marketing Group.  Heather does a great job of keeping all of us on our toes.  The feed yard scored very well on the audit solidly qualifying for the Excellent Category getting 230.5 out of 232.5 points.

threegirls.jpg

3. My favorite teenager went south to Texas for a three week nerd camp through the Duke University TIP program.  She will spend her time taking a concentrated class on Myths and Legends (Greek, Roman, and Norse Mythology as well as Native American Legends) and the role that they play in the development of culture.

dandychickencoop.jpg

My quarter horse, Dandy, came over to visit his new neighbors…

4. The rest of the family has picked up her chicken chores complete with finishing the chicken run so that the quickly growing birds could move into their new home.

swimteamlogo.jpg

5. The Cozad Swim Team, which I help to coach and the family all competes for, won the first two swim meets of the season with a strong showing of physical and mental fitness!

mattski.jpg

6. Finally, my favorite farmer and I celebrated our 18 wedding anniversary on Sunday.  We stole away for a few hours to water ski that afternoon.  I think that I likely found the only Nebraska farm boy with an incredible talent for water skiing that has ever attended Dartmouth College 🙂  Needless to say, skiing at the lake on a summer afternoon is one of the many things that we love to do together.

I hope to get into a more regular writing pattern over the next few weeks, but you all will have to bear with me during the swimming season as I spend 10-15 hours a week on the pool deck coaching which wrecks havoc with my blogging schedule!

familypicture3.jpg

In the meantime, we are wishing you and your families fun summer times!

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Farming, General

9 responses to “Random Thoughts From the Farm…

  1. It appears that Matt has the water bug, he just expresses it on the water instead of it in.

    • Good thought, Bill. He loves to water ski — still looks graceful on the water — it is fun to watch. I also love to ski, but I am not nearly as impressive as I “cut” the wake 🙂

      Glad to see that you are getting back into the pool to teach some swimming. Way to go!

      Anne

  2. Anne,
    Glad to hear that things are going well for you and your family.

    J and I took salt/mineral out to the yearling steers and spay heifers last night, they are so sassy. I haven’t been out to look at them for 2 weeks and they have changed, grown and look awesome.

    The prairie, hay and crops look good around here. We “plan” to start swathing on Monday. Will see what this crazy weather will let us do.

    Congrats on a great audit. I know you always strive to do and be better, but you are also on top of your game. Keep up the great work you do and the feedlot crew do.

    Sounds like you are having fun in the water. I know coaching is well worth your efforts to teach youth in small town america. They are learning a lot more than swimming skills from you.

    Happy Anniversary to you and Matt! Glad you got a chance to do something fun. Your family picture is lovely.

    • Thank you, Robyn, for all of your great comments! I am glad to hear that you all have plentiful grass and that the weather is at least sort of cooperating. You all had enough weather challenges last fall — it is your turn for things to go smoothly…

      I am very proud of our audit. I feel like it is our report card, and represents the commitment that my crew and I have toward caring for our cattle and raising beef responsibly. It is fun to watch my guys take such personal responsibility toward their daily work — their dedication is just awesome and it makes me proud to lead such a great team!

      We had a good day on our anniversary. Matt has had many challenges at the alfalfa plant this spring, so we needed to get away for a few hours to recharge a bit. As hard as it is to pull yourself away, sometimes it gives you a better perspective and allows for you to do a better job when you return the next day. I know that you can empathize with that!

      As for swim team, I love the kids and it brings me incredible joy to watch them get stronger and become tougher competitors. I am a hard coach, but it is only because I care so much. The great thing about a small town as I get to watch these young athletes grow up and turn into productive adults — I can watch all of our hard work pay off 🙂

      Take care,
      Anne

  3. Happy anniversary! Love the family picture.

    • Thank you, Jodi! I also love the picture. My mother-in-law came over to snap a picture or two about a week ago. I needed a family picture for a television gig that Megan and I are going to be a part of next week. Stay tuned for more information on that 🙂

      Best,
      Anne

  4. Love all the new family photos and happy anniversary 🙂 Glad to see the chicken run coming along as well. Ashley Grace better get home soon or she will miss all the chicken raising fun 😉

  5. Happy belated anniversary! And that nerd camp actually sounds pretty darn interesting!

    • Thank you, Colby! AG is loving her “nerd camp” experience and having fun in Texas. Her sisters are getting tired of doing all of her chores and are looking forward to her coming home 🙂

      Best,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

