The Future…

Thoughtful Thursday

swimteamretreat.jpg

The University of Texas’s school slogan is:

“What starts here changes the world.”

The above is a picture of the 41 young athletes that attended our kickoff season swim team retreat over Memorial Day.

When I look at them, I see the future.

When I coach them, I teach them to work hard and to believe in excellence.

With each swim practice they become stronger: physically and mentally;

and I smile knowing that

what they learn will help them to one day change the world…

 

7 Comments

Filed under General, Thoughtful Thursday

7 responses to “The Future…

  1. It looks a little chilly for the group, but congrats on your kickoff. I’m getting a growing collection of kids for some free swimming lessons that I’m doing. The lessons are for my kids and their friends. I had multiple small victories yesterday. It was a great day in the water.

    • That is wonderful, Bill! I am so glad that you are back in the water in some sort of “coaching” capacity. You have a great gift of working with kids — awesome that you are making good use of it again πŸ™‚

      The weather is actually, all of a sudden, pretty warm so the kids aren’t freezing to death. The pool where we held the retreat is an indoor pool, but the one that we are now practicing in for the summer is outdoors so we are hoping for continued warm weather.

      Good to hear from you — you’ll have to send Maddie and Sam Allen out to Nebraska so that I can coach them πŸ™‚

      Anne

  2. Amy

    I see that phrase every time I fly in and put of Austin and all over town!!

    • I actually saw the quote this week when I read about UT’s commencement address done by a retired Navy Seal. It was a wonderful address that started with the UT saying. I copied the entire commencement speech so that I could “encourage” my girls to read it πŸ™‚

      I would imagine that Austin would have it posted all over the place. Matt is cringing a bit that I quoted UT as he is not much of a Longhorn fan, but it was too good to pass up!

      Best,
      Anne

  3. Amen… well said πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

