Shades…

While 80 degrees is “short sleeve” weather for my favorite blonde cowgirl, 55 degrees is “short sleeve” weather for my cattle.  Cattle (at least those of northern origin) are much more cold tolerant than heat tolerant.  The weather in Nebraska is often one of extremes, and spring and summer are marked by temperature fluxes of upward of forty degrees in any given day.

MegShade3.jpg

While Megan and I can take off our favorite hooded sweatshirts as the temperature swings, cattle are left with the same hair coat on any given day.  Beginning in early April, my animals begin to shed their heavy winter coats but it is a gradual process for them.  Cattle can acclimate to warmer temperatures approximately one degree per day and, once acclimated to summer, have an upper critical temperature threshold in the low to mid 80’s.

When temperatures soar above the critical threshold, my job as cattle caregiver becomes even more important.  In particular, providing a constant source of fresh cool water is vital as higher temperatures result in a double in a bovine’s water requirement (from 10% of body weight to 20% of body weight).  Next to water, air flow / wind is a bovine’s best friend.  Wind will decrease the heat index temperatures equal to the MPH strength of the air flow, and also tends to decrease humidity which makes temperatures more comfortable.

ALSteer.jpg

We have a list of heat management protocols that we follow at the feed yard to aid our animals in the heat of the summer months:

  • Process/Handle/Ship cattle in the early morning hours (after they have had the chance to cool off with the nighttime lows and before the heat of the next day begins).
  • Make sure that there is good air flow in all of the home pens.
  • Make sure that the fresh water reserve is adequate to refill cattle water tanks quickly as animals have higher volume water needs.  We have an additional water well that we use in the summer months to ensure adequate water availability.
  • Decrease the number of animals held in each home pen to increase accessibility to both water and air flow.
  • Diligent control of weeds and insect pests as those increase the susceptibility of animals to heat stress.
  • Careful management of cattle feed rations to maximize cattle comfort.

This year, I am adding an extra tool for heat stress management in an effort to increase the comfort of my animals.  I purchased several “cattle shades” to place in pens where larger (closer to market) animals reside.  I am excited to see if this increases cattle comfort as we enter into the months of summer.

MegShade1.jpg

At this point, we are still patiently waiting for some warmer temperatures, but I can report that my animals appear to enjoy both rubbing/scratching on the bases of the shades as well as napping in the shade underneath them.  This pen of steers pictured was incredibly fascinated by my favorite blonde as she posed for a photo shoot on one of the cattle shades.  They gathered up behind her curiously until she decided to jump up on the bars and go for a swing!

MegShadeHang1.jpg

They must have sensed her desire to play because as she got down from the shade arm several of them came running back up to her.  In typical Megan fashion, she laughed as she turned toward them and asked them to move out of her space.

MegShadeWalk2

Megan’s kind of sunshine doesn’t need any shade…

6 Comments

Filed under Animal Welfare, General

6 responses to “Shades…

  1. Love the cattle shades!

    • Glad that you like them — I am looking forward to seeing if they are able to change my cattle’s level of comfort during the summer heat. It is always good to try new things 🙂

      Megan had fun with this post and it always makes me smile to include her.

      Good to hear from you,
      Anne

  2. Megan S.

    These are pretty neat! Now if I could just get one at the playground we would be in business! 🙂

  3. Anne,
    I think it’s awesome that one of your daughters likes to be in the cattle pens with you. It kind of reminds me of someone I know, lol,

    I’m a short sleeve girl at 80* or more too. We have had some beautiful spring weather; sun and mid-70’s.

    I didn’t know that wind will decrease heat index temperatures equal to the MPH strength of the air flow. We also do all our cattle work early in the morning. Moving pairs, working yearlings or calves, pulling bulls etc. all done at day break.

    I hope your cattle shades work and you get the results you are looking for.

    Prayers for rain; I know you can use it.

    • Sharing with my girls always makes me smile, Robyn — and I hope that my girls will cherish those memories just as much as you cherish your own. Megan is like a ray of sunshine, and leaves a trail of smiles in her wake…

      I learned about the wind relative to the heat index at a heat stress day long workshop this winter. I took lots of notes from the workshop and would be happy to share them with you. Let me know and I will email them to you if you would like them. I learned a lot of things that day, as well are reinforcing those things that I already knew. Dr. Dee Griffin and Dr. Terry Madar were the main presenters and they are both very intelligent and savvy scientists.

      Yes, we also pray for rain. It is dry — as you can see from the dust in the last picture…

      It sounds as though you all are keeping very busy on the ranch!

      Best,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

