Refusing to take part in the “Food Fight”

I do not often “reblog” other people’s writings, but this one is too good to pass up. We are blessed to have a diverse and plentiful supply of food — let’s make the decision to be thankful for food choices and respect all types of agriculture. Thank you Willow Lea Stock Farm!

Willow Lea Stock Farm

Last night a woman who I like and respect quite a bit posted a rather lengthy Facebook status.  Tammy and I met several years ago at the farmers market where I’m a vendor and she is a regular customer.  Her status bothered me so much that it’s now 3:00 AM, about 5 hours after I read the post, and I’ve given up trying to sleep, gotten out of bed, and am at the computer in our farm office, trying to regurgitate the thoughts I’ve had since the initial read.

She’s a mom of two, and is making all of the food choices for her family.  Her post centered around her feelings of being torn between “seemingly opposing sides” of the “local, heirloom, organic, grass-fed, humanely raised, sustainable, non-GMO, antibiotic-free, free-range” farmers and those who farm using conventional methods.

I’ve left the comfort of my warm bed to try to explain…

View original post 1,619 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

