Antibiotics…

granddaddyhunting2

We shared a love and respect for animals and the outdoors…

My family traveled to Florida last week to celebrate my dad’s life at a beautiful Memorial Service.  As I stood in the airport waiting to board the first plane of the journey, I fielded a phone call from a Wall Street Journal reporter.

The FDA had announced earlier that morning that it intended to issue Guidance Document 213 to the Federal Registrar.  This action renewed media interest in the topic of antibiotic use in food animals.  Guidance 213 and its accompanying Feed Veterinary Directive implement the FDA’s policy of judicious antimicrobial use in food producing animals by two mechanisms:

  1. An extension of veterinary oversight in the care of food animals.
  2. The elimination of the sub-therapeutic use of medically important antibiotics in food animals.DSC04922

Guidance 213 establishes a three-year timeframe for accomplishing these two important goals.  In a nutshell, it creates a documented paper trail for veterinary oversight of all antibiotics (eliminating all Over The Counter usage) while at the same time completely phasing out the use of antibiotics that are important to human medicine for growth promotion purposes.

The first question that the reporter asked me was,

“Anne, how will Guidance 213 affect your farm?”

The short answer to this question is “not much”.  I followed this up with a more detailed response… Because, as my girls are quick to remind me, I enjoy pontificating on topics that I am passionate about!

Administering a prescription antibiotic to a sick calf...

Administering a prescription antibiotic to a sick calf…

  1.  My veterinarian plays a key role in every animal health issue that I have at the feed yard.  He is on site at least once a month and we remain in contact via telephone or email in between those visits.  There is already close veterinarian oversight on my farm.  As such, the only change that Guidance 213 brings to me is that my vet will have additional paperwork to fill out certifying this oversight.
  2. I do not use medically important antibiotics for growth promotion purposes.  I only use those antibiotics for the control/treatment/prevention of disease; therefore, there will be no changes relative to mechanism #2.

    Giving vaccinations to newly arrived animals which keep them healthy and reduces the amount  of antibiotics that I use on my farm...

    Giving vaccinations to newly arrived animals which keep them healthy and reduces the amount of antibiotics that I use on my farm…

Those of you that have followed Feed Yard Foodie for a long time will perhaps remember a detailed series of FYF posts relative to antibiotic use.  I wrote this series when my youngest daughter was hospitalized with a virulent strain of pneumonia two years ago.  This issue is one that is near and dear to my heart.

Keeping all of them healthy is my daily focus...

Keeping all of them healthy is my daily focus…

I invite all of you to reread these posts, and ask any questions that you might have relative to the issue.

https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/the-responsible-user-of-antibiotics/

https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/the-conversationalist-take-2-bovine-respiratory-antibiotic-use-relative-to-human-antibiotic-resistance/

https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/the-misunderstood/

7 Comments

Filed under Antibiotics, hormones, and other growth promotants..., General

7 responses to “Antibiotics…

  1. John Butler

    Timely post Well done

    Hey. Saw the pic of your dad and his pheasants I want to go hunt some time I have never pheasant hunted!

    John Butler Sent from my iPhone

    • Thank you, John.

      Pheasant hunting with his favorite Labrador Retriever was one of my dad’s very favorite past-times. Quite honestly, he thought that me making my life in Nebraska was a great excuse to come out every fall to hunt! Matt would love to take you hunting sometime. I grew up hunting quail in Florida with Dad, but I haven’t hunted much in recent years—life got too busy in recent years with my girls and the feed yard…

      You’ll have to holler next fall and we’ll get something set up.

      Anne

  2. Michele Rager

    love reading your blog Ann…you are such a great spokesperson for the industry! I want everyone to understand what you and our other members do everyday to feed us! I know the memorial service for your dad must have been very bittersweet….my dad has been gone for more than 30 years now and I still miss him. God bless you and your family, and may you have a wonderful Christmas season!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Michele. Yes, it was very bittersweet. Dad’s death leaves a big hole. He loved sharing the “country” life that I lead in Nebraska and was a frequent visitor. He was also very proud of the work that I do raising cattle and growing beef—he loved to brag about it 🙂

      Great to hear from you–thank you for always reading!
      Anne

  3. Diane

    Thank You for having this web site. I grew up on a cattle farm in Nebraska. We also fed out cattle. We had maybe 1000 head at a time. I also loved working with the cattle. I so wish I had know about you a few years ago. I would have loved to bring my Dad out to your place. He would have loved to talk cattle with you and given you a few holistic things to try when treating cattle for various things. We farmed and everything we grew went to the cattle. My Dad passed away last September. He was the hardest working person I’ve ever known. May God bless you and your family with health and well being! Thanks again for this wonderful site!

    • Thank you, Diane. I also wish that I could have met your father. I love to have conversations with folks that spent their lives farming and working with cattle. I always learn something new every time I have one of those conversations. You will have to come by the farm and visit sometime. I enjoy visitors 🙂

      I appreciate your kind words. I hope that you will keep reading!
      Anne

  4. Pingback: Reviewing the Topic Of Antibiotics… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

