Chicago Bound…

My favorite 11 year old cowgirl / chef and I leave early tomorrow morning for Chicago.

From the feed yard to the big city!

From the feed yard to the big city!

Megan and I have been asked to present at the Live Well 2013 workshop for food bloggers.  Live Well 2013 is put on by the beef checkoff and the theme is Celebrating Food for Simple, Strong & Better Living.

I am very excited to be included on the list of speakers at the event, and am also looking forward to meeting the wonderful fellow bloggers that will be in attendance.  Most of them have a much longer blogging history than I do, so I am hopeful that I will pick up some great blogging nuggets of wisdom while visiting the Windy City.

Megan has never traveled to Chicago, nor participated with me in a public speaking event so she is both nervous and excited for the trip.

My other favorite blonde will be cheering her on from the farm and helping to do her chores while she is gone...

My other favorite blonde will be cheering her on from the farm and helping to do her chores while she is gone…

We will be talking with the audience about our life on the farm and sharing how we raise beef in Nebraska.  If you tweet, you can follow the workshop via Twitter at #LivingWell or searching @BeefForDinner.  Or, you can wait and hear about our quick trip to Chicago in next week’s posts!

They still need good care even though I will be gone...

They still need good care even though I will be gone…

I am very thankful for my hard working crew that will pick up the slack for me while I am traveling.  The following quote by John Wooden is up on a billboard outside of the Cozad High School, and it very much sums up my thoughts for today.

The main ingredient of stardom is the rest of the team.

2 Comments

Filed under Feed Yard Foodie "In The News", General

2 responses to “Chicago Bound…

  1. You and Megan will do well at the conference 🙂 I like your girls even more now… Volleyball… didn’t know they played… I played form middle school though college… girls after my own heart…. farming and volleyball two of the best things in life. I can’t wait to hear about your trip 🙂

    • Thank you, Kim! Meg is most definitely a volleyball girl—Karyn is just getting started so we’ll see 🙂

      We are having an incredibly interesting trip, but looking forward to getting home late tonight (Saturday). I hope that you are enjoying the weekend!

      Anne

Leave a Reply

