Perfect Practice Makes Perfect Performance…

Our swim team t-shirts this season carried one of my very favorite quotes.

She smiled for the picture, but often when I mention this phrase she seems tempted to roll her eyes...

She smiled for the picture, but often when I mention this phrase she appears tempted to roll her eyes…

I not only enjoy telling my swimmers that Perfect Practice Makes Perfect Performance, I live out the words in my own life.  I am blessed to have a feed yard crew that also is devoted to striving for excellence.  Each of us believes that taking pride in our work and focusing on all of the little things that ensure good care for our animals is an essential part of our every day lives.

This commitment to detail and devotion to good care makes my affiliation with Progressive Beef a great partnership.  Progressive Beef is all about Perfect Practice Making Perfect Performance.  The program combines the core values of sustainability, humane animal care, and food safety with daily care practices which ensure success.

ProgressiveBeefLogoGreen

A couple of weeks ago, I had my second audit for the program (I will have three per year).  An auditor from a third party firm called IMI Global traveled to the feed yard to spend most of the day with us.  He checked our records, watched us work cattle, evaluated our daily cattle care (cattle living conditions), and assessed our feed mill and feed delivery system.

Auditing our cattle handling skills while vaccinating some newly arrived yearling heifers...

Auditing our cattle handling skills while we worked some newly arrived yearling heifers…

The audit was very organized and thorough.  Despite this, and despite our preparation and dedication to detail, having an auditor at the feed yard was still a little bit unnerving.  The bottom line is that it is hard to have someone pick through your life and judge your performance.

Looking at our feed delivery records with my foreman...

Looking at our feed delivery records…

To say that I am proud of my crew’s performance would be an understatement.  We rocked the audit scoring 228.5 out of a possible 228.5 possible points.  I set the bar high and our team delivered perfection.  Despite the fact that I get to spend each day watching our animals thrive and make safe and healthy beef, it is still a thrill to get such an awesome report card.

a

Responsible animal care not only matters to you, it matters to me…

In the words of Abraham Lincoln, “I do the very best I know how, the very best I can, and I mean to keep on doing so until the end.”

Leave a comment

Filed under CAFO, General, Progressive Beef QSA Program

Leave a Reply

