The Coerced Post: By Ashley Grace…

I have been ordered to sit down and write about my summer. I believe mom’s exact words were, “Tell our readers how a 13 year old Nebraska farm girl brainiac spends her summer.” So here it goes.

Kickin' it on the Thames River...

Kickin’ it on the Thames River…

I went to the UK with my Grandma in June. We spent five days in London.  While we were there, we visited Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, Kensington Palace, and the Greenwich Observatory, where the Prime Meridian is located!

Straddling the Prime Meridian in Greenwich...

Straddling the Prime Meridian in Greenwich…

I loved seeing the crown jewels and the burial place of Anne Boleyn and Kathryn Howard at the Tower. (I’m a history nerd!) Then we spent a day at Hampton Court Palace, a favorite castle of Henry VIII.

He might be even more serious than my Mom...

He might be even more serious than my Mom…

After that my grandma and I went to Salisbury and saw Stonehenge and Old Sarum, the village that was a predecessor to Salisbury. We also went to Salisbury Cathedral, which was built in just 30 years and houses a copy of the Magna Carta.  My grandma was really excited to see trout in the river Avon!

My favorite part of our visit to Canterbury was punting on the river Stour. We also went to the Cathedral and saw a lot of pretty stained glass. I loved going to Dover and walking on the white cliffs. I made my Grandma walk all the way down to the beach on the Channel and then back up!

Hurry up, Grandma!

Hurry up, Grandma!

This summer I also participated on swim team with my family. This year at Championships, the Gothenburg ~ Cozad team won, and I got first in the 100m freestyle!

The 100 Freestyle Champion!

The 100 Freestyle Champion!

This is my second summer running for the Cozad Cross Country 200 mile club. Last year I ran 250 miles over the summer. My mom didn’t let me run while I was in the UK, so I had to increase my daily mileage when I got back.  I hope I will make 200. Right now I am at 151.

a

Rackin’ in the miles…

Stonehenge: Whispers of the Past is a poem inspired by my trip to England.

Footsteps travel through ancient hills

With precision and ceremony that induce chills

Watching the sun rise behind pillars of rock

Set there by magic that has been wrought

We now speculate with science and math

What went down on that old path

How did they lift those pillars of glory

And what role did they play at England’s history

I have put two other new poems on my page, so check it out! Hope you enjoy and have a great rest of the summer!

8 Comments

Filed under Ashley Grace's Corner and The Chick Project..., General

8 responses to “The Coerced Post: By Ashley Grace…

  1. Stephanie

    Enjoyed your post Ashley Grace.

  2. What an amazing trip AG – you saw some of my favorite holy places, and some I’ve always wanted to see! Old Sarum and Canterbury are two of the most important pilgrim destinations in the whole Anglican Church world – good places for an Exploring Episcopal young woman to see. Missed you when I was in Cozad this week!

    + Bishop Barker

  3. Ashley,
    Great post so glad your mom made you post about your amazing summer. I traveled a lot when I was your age all the way though college and it is some of my favorite memories. I hope you will keep them with you always, and with your grandmother all the better 🙂 Keep up your good work 🙂
    – Kim (Seasonsgirl)

    • Thank you, Kim! It was a fun trip to take with my Grandma—I am a history nerd and she is an English teacher, so we made a good pair.

      Ashley Grace

  4. Joanne Atwood

    Thank you for your post. I enjoyed it very much. I always wanted to go to England, I got a wonderful glimpse thru your writings.

    • Hi Joanne,

      England is an awesome place–you should go there sometime! Thank you for reading. I am glad that you liked my writings.

      Ashley Grace

Leave a Reply

