Which Wolf Do You Feed?

I have been challenged from several different directions over the past week.

I cannot look at this picture without seeing the GOOD.

Despite the challenges, they make me feel blessed…

My favorite farmer always seems to know what I need, and he sent me this quote to help me muddle through the chaos.  It really spoke to me, so I am sharing it with all of you.

An old Cherokee told his grandson,

“My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside us all.  One is Evil.  It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies and ego.  The other is Good It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy, and truth.” 

The boy thought about it and asked,

“Grandfather, which wolf wins?”. 

The old man quietly replied,

“The one that you feed.”

There are times when each one of us will be in the midst of struggles–either those that we create ourselves or those that others impose upon us.  My heart always tells me to persevere with Grace which causes my head to begrudgingly follow…

The natural beauty that lives in my backyard exists everywhere in the world---we simply have to remember to look for it...

The natural beauty that lives in my backyard exists everywhere in the world—I simply have to remember to look for it…

I chose to feed the Good because my greatest desire is to use my talents to better the beautiful world in which I live… 

Which wolf do you choose to feed?

13 Comments

Filed under General

13 responses to “Which Wolf Do You Feed?

  1. Anne,
    Keep feeding the good wolf as you do. You always are full of grace. Like you I try to feed the good wolf. There are so many that feed the bad wolf to try to make themselvs bigger and they are full of pride and self rightousness. They aren’t willing to look at any view but their own even if all the facts are there to prove otherwise. God tells us pride comes before the fall (not in those exact words) and theose full of pride will never enter the kingdom of God as they have no room in their heart for him as they have filled it with themself. You are full of grace and understanding and I admire that about you. Keep your eye on the good wolf and that precious family that lovs you.

    • Thank you, Kim. Those are wonderful words of encouragement and very needed today. I appreciate your support very much.

      Anne

    • I wish that it was as simple as facts and opinions! I had several things bunch up together in addition to the controversy on the Huffington Post site. The combination of all of those has left me a bit “off”, but I am rallying 🙂

      Feeding the Good Wolf always makes me feel better—sometimes it just takes a little while to shake off the bad vibes…

      Love hearing from you–thanks for always supporting.
      Anne

  2. Robert L. Gwilt

    Hi Anne I love reading your blog and hearing about your family.
    I especially enjoyed this one on Feeding the Good wolf.
    Robert Gwilt
    Liberty,Indiana 47353

    • Robert,

      I am so glad that you enjoyed the quote. It definitely spoke to me just as it spoke to you. Thank you so much for being such a loyal reader. I appreciate it!

      Anne

  3. Hi Anne – I’ve heard this quote before and it’s one of my favorites, such wisdom in it. Whatever challenges are coming at you right now I have no doubt you will meet them head on and come out even stronger and wiser than you already are. You do such great work. I really admire all that you do, here on your blog, in your feedlot and for your family. Wishing you all the best.
    Jody

    • Thank you, Jody. I really appreciate your support and words of encouragement. We all face challenges and some days are easier than others. I am so blessed and try very hard to remember that each and every moment.

      I will continue to strive to persevere with Grace!
      All the best,
      Anne

  4. Reblogged this on From Field to Field and commented:
    This is a great blog post from Anne Burkholder, who owns a feedyard in Nebraska. Her blog is https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/

  5. Right away I am going to do my breakfast, after
    having my breakfast coming yet again to read further news.

  6. This really spoke to me and I would like to “borrow” the story. We’ve been facing some struggles this week, and my first reaction was definitely NOT to feed the good wolf. I will have to remember this as the struggles don’t look as if they are going to lessen in the coming days.
    Thank you.

    • Barbara,

      I am so sorry that you are facing struggles—it is always a test of our strength and fortitude when that happens.

      I am glad that you found my post helpful and I wish you the best as you “fuel the good wolf”. Stay true to yourself and your beliefs!

      All the best,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

