Making Memories in ‘God’s Country’…

Every summer for the past four years, my favorite cowgirl/chef and I have taken our horses north to the Nebraska Sandhills for a long weekend of riding.  I laugh that those few days allow me to search for peace and quiet amidst the relative chaos of my everyday life…

There exists a quiet beauty in the Nebraska Sandhills that soothes my soul...

There exists a quiet beauty in the Nebraska Sandhills that soothes my soul…

Megan was 8 years old when we visited the first time, and our annual trip has become something that she looks forward to each year.  We travel up to the Lake Calamus area located near Burwell, Nebraska and stay with Sherry Jarvis at Heart In Your Hand Horsemanship.  I met Sherry about six years ago and find her to be a woman of tremendous natural horse savvy.

Sherry has become a great mentor to Megan...

Sherry is a great mentor to Megan…

I would like to share my favorite pictures from our three days in the SandHills.  Hopefully they will provide a visual picture of our great weekend!

My little cowgirl loves her horse--they make great partners!

My little cowgirl loves her horse–they make great partners!

Megan also has a very special friend who (along with her grandma) meets us for our days of riding...

Megan also has a very special friend who (along with her grandma) meets us for our days of riding…

I love to watch her develop great communication and feel with her horse.  This builds confidence and focus that will help her all throughout her life...

I love to watch Meg develop great communication and feel with her horse. This builds confidence and focus that will help her all throughout her life…

The beauty that

The beauty that they find together on those hills teaches her to respect the land and work hard to care for it…

My favorite quarter horse and I cooling off with a swim in the lake...

Cooling off in the lake…I had never ‘swum’ while on horseback before.  Dandy doesn’t quite share my All American Swimmer status but he did a pretty good job…

The wild flowers were just starting to bloom...

The wild flowers were just starting to bloom…

The river was also gorgeous...

The river was also gorgeous…

It's always good to have a cowgirl with just a little bit of attitude :)

It’s always good to have a cowgirl with just a little bit of attitude :), along with—

no apparent need to keep her boots on...

no apparent need to keep her boots on…

I hope that each one of you has something special which soothes your soul and renews your faith. 

6 Comments

Filed under General, Natural Horsemanship

6 responses to “Making Memories in ‘God’s Country’…

  1. Kathy Bottrell

    I love your last statement about “something special to soothe the soul and renew faith”. This means different things to different folks, but in this crazy world we all need soothing and renewing.

    • I agree, Kathy. I know that I reach a point some days where my brain is completely overloaded. Finding a way to center myself is what gets me through—you are right that each person finds peace in different forms, but all of us need it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂
      Anne

  2. Carol, Megan's friend's grandma

    Great pictures and comments, Anne. It’s been a really growing annual experience for all of us!

    • Meg and I are so glad to have been able to share those days with you and Teyha, Carol. I am glad that you enjoyed the pictures 🙂

      Anne

  3. KH

    Great post (again..)! I was wondering why your horses never wear a bit in their mouth.. guess the horsemanship approach explains it, doesn’t it? Keep up the great work!

    • Sorry that I am so slow responding here KH–this week has been crazy for me! I do mostly ride with a bit at the feed yard, but I am also a fan of riding with a hackamore and often do that at home with my girls. I started my girls riding that way b/c I wanted them to use their bodies to ride and not be hard on the horse with their hands. As you guessed, I am a proponent of natural horsemanship. And, I actually really enjoy riding that way 🙂

      Thanks for reading and supporting me!
      Anne

Leave a Reply

