Sunday Afternoon at the Lake…

We try very hard to spend Sunday afternoons as a family at Midway Lake.  It is a great way to spend quality time together and provides my favorite farmer with some down time away from the alfalfa mill.  This weekend was special because my mom was here visiting.

Grandma with Ashley Grace and Karyn...

Grandma with Ashley Grace and Karyn…

My favorite Cowgirl/Chef slalom water-skied for the first time.  Go Meg!

My favorite Cowgirl/Chef slalom water-skied for the first time. Go Meg!

My favorite teenager used her push-up strengthened arms to push her sisters off of the tube...

My favorite teenager used her push-up strengthened arms to push her sisters off of the tube…

My baby caught some serious air coming off a turn...

My baby caught some serious air coming off a turn…

And then worked on mastering the kayak...

And then worked on mastering the kayak…

Learning teamwork and making memories...

Learning teamwork and making memories…Note which member of the trio is doing the work!

Even Shellie had a good time while watching over her girls...

Even Shellie had a good time while watching over her girls…

The lake is a little piece of heaven...My husband grew up water skiing on these same beautiful waters...

The lake is a little piece of heaven…My husband grew up water skiing on these same beautiful waters that my daughters love so much…

The neighbor's Red Angus cows are nice enough to share with us...

Fortunately the neighbor’s Red Angus cows are nice enough to share with us…

How do you like to spend your Sunday afternoons?

9 Comments

Filed under Family, General

9 responses to “Sunday Afternoon at the Lake…

  1. John Butler

    Cool! One of my family’s favorite things is waterskiing too!

    John Butler Sent from my iPhone

    • John,

      You’ll have to bring the crew up–we’d love to take you all skiing! Just make sure that you order up a day where the wind isn’t blowing 30+ miles per hour!

      Anne

  2. Jeff

    Yep…a little slice of heaven with some of the best childhood memories ever.

    • I figured that you would like this post, Jeff. You need to bring your boys back to Nebraska this summer so that we can take them to the lake! I won’t even ask them where their “life belts” are 🙂

      Anne

  3. That looks like such a great day 🙂 We usually are doing projects as hubby gets off work at 12 most Sundays so we have a good part of the day to get things done. We also love to take Sunday drives or go hiking if there isn’t a pressing project to work on 🙂 I am happy your mom was along for the ride 🙂 Go Meg on the water skiing 🙂

    • Sounds like good plans for Sundays! I am always thinking of projects, and Matt is always grabbing us and going to the lake. Now that the girls are older and can help with chores around the house/yard, it works. It really frees up Sunday afternoon when they can get the gardens weeded and the grass mowed during the weekdays 🙂

      Like you, I also enjoying hiking but there is not much of that in the Cornhusker State so we gravitate to other outdoor activities. Next weekend, Meg and I are taking the horses up to the sandhills for a couple of days. We are both looking forward to some quiet time together with our equines!

      I hope that someday you will get to Nebraska–until then, thanks so much for reading and commenting.

      Anne

      • Sounds like Matt is a lot like my hubby… he always makes sure to get some fun in with the work 😉 I am looking forward to having kiddos to help us. My motto is ‘many hands make light work’. It always helps to have people to help. I think I would prefer riding to hiking 😉 I am excited for you and Meg ride 🙂 I am sure we will get to NE someday again to visit family 🙂

  4. Anne,
    I have had a few bad experiences and am not a fan of water. Growing up we spent our summer weekends showing livestock.

    My Husband grew up going to the lake most weekends and is a water skier. He loves playing in the water.

    I like to spend my Sunday afternoon by taking a nap and relaxing. It’s nice to have a chance to recharge for the upcoming week.

    • I’m sorry to hear that you had bad experiences with water, rRobyn—I suppose that I am the opposite. Having grown up in South Florida and being a competitive swimmer, I likely spent more time in the water during my childhood than out of it!

      A Sunday afternoon nap sounds great—I might have to try that sometime 🙂

      Anne

Leave a Reply

