The Grillin’ Girl…

For those of you that have missed Megan’s Meatful Mondays, she’s back and she’s learning to grill!

Marinated Sirloin Steaks cooked by Cowgirl Chef Megan on a charcoal grill...

Marinated Sirloin Steaks cooked by Cowgirl Chef Megan on a charcoal grill…

No spring would be sustainable without cooking lessons and quality time with the grill!  Today, my favorite Cowgirl Chef partners with her daddy to make delicious sirloin steaks!

Needs:  Sirloin Steaks (1″ to 1 1/2″ thick), bottle balsamic vinaigrette, charcoal, and grill.

Marinate the steaks in balsamic vinaigrette dressing for several hours.IMG_3192

Build a charcoal fire on the grill.IMG_3186

Place steaks on the fire when it is ready for cooking.IMG_3201

Cook until blood begins to pool at the top of the steak, and then turn the steak and cook a few minutes longer (more time means a more “well done” steak, less time is rarer.IMG_3202As one of the 29 cuts of lean beef, Sirloin steaks make a great summer time meal.  Megan loves them for the taste, but I love them because they provide her growing body with: Iron, Vitamins B6 and B12, Zinc, Choline, Phosphorus, Protein, Niacin, Selenium and Riboflavin.

Beef's Big 10 empower her to jump far...

Beef’s Big 10 empower her to jump far…

And still ride off into the sunset!

And still be able to ride off into the sunset!

Click here for some great grilling tips!

8 Comments

Filed under General, Recipes and Beef Cooking Tips...

8 responses to “The Grillin’ Girl…

  1. Karla Pazour

    simple tip for lean beef cuts — look for the words ’round’ or ‘loin’ — such as the delcious SIRLOIN you just grilled — YUM

  2. Bobbi

    While I love grilling steaks and burgers on the grill, I really love using my smoker for beef. Every spring for our annual branding I spend several days preparing (letting the dry rub soak in) and smoking several beef roasts! The low and slow temp for 8 to 10 hours produces a roast that is moist and tender. I prepare the roast the week before and freeze the roast whole. The day before the branding I put them in the fridge to thaw and the next morning put them in my roaster with some beef broth. They make great bbq sandwiches!!

    • I may have to invite myself over to eat at your place sometime, Bobbi. That sounds wonderful!

      Anne

      • Bobbi

        Absolutely! I have become a little crazy with the smoker. I started with ‘cheaper’ cuts. I think I am gonna try a prime rib for my next adventure!

  3. So glad to see Megan back and cooking 🙂 Steak is one of hubbys favorite things to grill and I am happy to only have to provide the sides and have less clean up 😉 Glad to see Megan learning some new cooking skills 🙂

    • There is a definite side benefit to grilling–I also love the lack of clean up! Megan and her daddy are having fun. Matt is a very particular charcoal griller, and it is fun to watch the two of them together as they cook 🙂

      It is also nice to have grilling weather! It is one of the really nice aspects of summer.

      Anne

Leave a Reply

