Cowgirl Up…

Less than 24 hours after being bedridden with a virulent stomach flu, Megan rallied back to tie for 3rd place in the state 10 year old gymnastics competition in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday.

She drew her toughest event first, and her performance set the stage for a great competition.

She drew her toughest event first, and her performance set the stage for a great competition.

As I studied her with questions in my eyes the morning of the competition, she looked at me and said “I’m going to do this, Mom.” I realized that physically she was not 100%, but I believed her because I knew that Megan would Cowgirl UpCowgirl Up is an expression that is regularly spoken at the Feed Yard Foodie house.

It is what happens when adversity is embraced as opportunity.

A tough little cowgirl...

A tough little cowgirl…

Four strong gymnastics routines later, she was standing on the awards stand with a big smile on her face.  While I am certainly proud of the hard work that she has put in to be competitive in gymnastics, I am more proud of the mental toughness and tenacity that drove her to personal victory.

Megan was able to sustain despite a challenge, and that is the essence of the expression Cowgirl Up.

The promise and optimism of spring...

The promise and optimism of spring…

Each year as winter turns into spring, I am amazed at the ability of our land to sustain growth and start to awaken from hibernation.

The geese have arrived by the millions on their trek back north...

Arriving by the millions on their trek back north, the geese feed on the corn that is spilled on the fields during harvest.

  • My crocuses bloom only to get covered with snow.
  • The grass starts to green despite nightly temperatures in the teens.
  • The geese and the sandhill cranes determinedly fly north as the stubborn Nebraska wind attempts to push them back to where they originated.
  • My horses and cattle begin to shed their winter coats as the days get longer and their bodies tell them that warmer temperatures are coming.
  • Neighboring ranches celebrate the birth of baby calves as the bovine life cycle perpetuates.

    New life...

    New life…

Mother Nature does a beautiful rendition of Cowgirl Up each spring and it is something that I watch for with great excitement.  This spring, as the Nebraska earth awakens on our farm, I am beginning a new theme entitled Sustainable Spring

s

Breakfast on a spring day…

Throughout this series of posts, I would like to share our experiences as the farm sustains life, and our natural resources steadfastly provide despite challenges.

We can Cowgirl Up together and hopefully have a great discussion of the increasingly popular term sustainability.  Drop me a note with any specific topics or questions that you might have!

15 Comments

Filed under General, Sustainable Spring

15 responses to “Cowgirl Up…

  1. Paula

    Beautiful! Congrats to Megan! Most important, she is learning the power of belief and positive thinking. My Mom always told us, “You can do anything you put your mind to!” My Dad, a dairy farmer and full-time General Motors shop worker, provided us with that example everyday.

  2. Bill

    An entire post about Awesome! I look forward to your new series.

    • Thank you, Bill. It always makes me feel good when my kids are tough and make good decisions.

      I, too, am looking forward to the new series. I have a lot of ideas and am hoping that readers will share questions and thoughts as well to help drive the conversation.

      Take care,
      Anne

  3. Bobbi

    Congrats to Megan!! It always amazes me what one can accomplish if you have passion and determination. I am ready for spring, all the brand new calves that are being born everyday reminds me warmer weather is just around the corner and hopefully abundant spring rains!!

    • The 7 degrees this morning didn’t feel much like spring! But, I too am ready for it. We desperately need some rain–hopefully Mother Nature will provide.

      Thanks for your congrats for Megan, Bobbi. I will pass it along to her! I hope that your new little one is doing well.

      Anne

  4. Yahhhhh Megan 🙂 I remember one time I was sick with a flu and my entire volleyball team was counting on me so I had to get the job done… just like Megan and that is Cowgirl UP 🙂 Congrats on her great accomplishment 🙂 Here spring is trying to cowgirl up, but the snow we got yesterday is making it tough. Our chicks and chickens seem to sense spring so hopefully it will come soon 🙂 Congrats on being a great mom to a great kid 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your compliment and support! I will pass it along to Megan. We are hoping to do a Megan’s Meatful Monday post next week now that we have gotten through the flu. My favorite cowgirl’s birthday is Friday so maybe we can cook dinner together in honor of the b-day and share the recipe 🙂

      We had a little bit of snow and ice last Saturday (just what you want when you are driving 2 and 1/2 hours away to a gymnastics meet!) I hope that was the end of the white stuff. We really need moisture, so we are praying for rain. I keep telling myself that Easter is this weekend, therefore winter should be done!

      Take care,
      Anne

  5. Carol

    Awesome, Megan! I’m so proud of you! Anne, I always appreciate all of your posts because they are informative, uplifting and challenging. The new series sounds like it will be all of that and more. Keep up the great work!

  6. Tehya

    Wow! Congrats to Megan! Miss ya. See you soon!!

  7. Katie

    That’s awesome! Cowgirls can do anything!

Leave a Reply

