Empowering Myself as a Woman Entrepreneur…

I remember vividly as a child listening to my grandfather say, “Anne, strive to be unemployable!”  My grandfather’s definition of a successful entrepreneur was someone who owns and operates a personal business.  He wanted me to be my own Boss Lady.

December 2012, age 91...

December 2012 at age 91 with my girls…

Last week when I was speaking to a group of young women involved in the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program at the University of Nebraska, I was asked to define a successful entrepreneur.  While my grandfather’s words circled around in my head, they were not the ones that came out of my mouth when I answered the question.

Answering questions at the panel discussion...

Answering questions at the panel discussion…

While I have most definitely followed my grandfather’s advice by running my own business, that is not what drives me as a woman.  Consequently, I found myself giving the group of young women entrepreneurs different words of wisdom.  I told them:

Figure out what your talents and strengths are, then, go out and find the best way to share them in order to be a positive contributor to your community and your country.

I continued with:

When my life is over and I leave this world, I do not want to have any part of myself left.  I want to have used all of my gifts and talents in order to have made a positive difference.

This is my goal in life and my definition of success.  It explains why I spend so much of my time working on volunteer projects while also owning and managing a small business.  As one of only a small number of women who owns and manages a cattle feed yard, it is likely that others would define me as a unique entrepreneur, but that’s not all that makes me tick

I often speak my mind but it is only because I want to invoke positive change...

I often speak my mind but it is only because I want to invoke positive change…

I am indeed proud that I am the boss lady at the feed yard; however, I am most proud of the work that I do to both advance cattle welfare and make improvements in the beef community at large.  I do this while simultaneously being an active member in my community and raising my children with the core values that they will need in order to be positive contributors.DSC04809

That’s what really makes me tick…

 In my heart, I am a determined woman who believes in making my life journey be one of hard work and outreach.   That’s what makes me get out of bed in the morning.

10 Comments

Filed under Animal Welfare, Feed Yard Foodie "In The News", General

10 responses to “Empowering Myself as a Woman Entrepreneur…

  1. Anne, you are well on your way to living and fulfilling your words of wisdom.

    I love your enthusiasm and find you inspiring. Thank You!

    • Robyn,

      I always love to hear from you and cherish your support as we go through the “journey of life”. I am glad that I inspire you–I have always wanted to be a “people builder” and love to watch others use their talents to make our world a better place.

      Anne

  2. Ann

    Anne, It is gratifying to have participated in a panel of powerful women speaking to young women. I am just grateful that our industry has opened itself to make that happen…what a difference that years and many powerful independent women have made…
    thank you for sharing your words of wisdom!
    Ann

    • Ann,

      It was truly both a pleasure and an honor to be paired with you and Robin last week. I agree that it is wonderful that our beef community has opened itself up such that women are now considered to be an important component.

      Visiting with students at UNL always leaves me with a feeling of excitement about the future. We have such talent with our youth and it empowers me to be able to share with them.

      All the best to you and Dave,
      Anne

  3. I love your words of wisdom! I totally agree!

    • Sorry that I am so slow to reply–in the midst of our family being challenged by the stomach flu, I missed your comment. Thanks for your support! I always appreciate hearing from you and wish you the best 🙂

      Anne

  4. Jeff

    Don’t fool yourself. In my opinion, your accomplishments as a Mom and wife are something to be more proud of, but I am also biased. The other stuff is an extremely close second, but still second. But, yeah, I also knew what you meant.

    • Jeff,

      It is interesting how I do not separate out all of the facets of my life. Matt and the girls are so intrinsically tied in with everything that I do in my life that sometimes I forget to list them separately. They are, quite honestly, my life and inspiration. I am so very thankful to be blessed with them.

      It was good to see you all last weekend. I am sorry that youth sports events and the stomach flu prevented us from seeing you more than Friday night.

      Take care,
      Anne

  5. You are an inspiration and I fully believe in your words of wisdom! I am still trying to “figure” out what I want to be when I grow up, but for now I am just blessed to be on a path that I hope will make a contribution and one that uses my talents.
    Laurie

    • Thank you, Laurie! I appreciate your kind words so much. I figure that “growing up” is a “work in progress”, so it sounds as though you are doing a marvelous job.

      By the way, I love your pictures working cattle earlier in the week. They are just beautiful.

      Anne

Leave a Reply

