Winter Storm Q Turns The Feed Yard Foodie Farm White…

What was brown on Wednesday is now white…

Removing snow from the feed bunks before dawn so that we could get breakfast to the cattle...

Removing snow from the feed bunks before dawn so that we could get breakfast to the cattle…

Since the Florida girl is the worst at running the tractor, she gets to clean the ends of the bunks that the tractor-sweeper can not reach with a shovel...

Since the Florida girl is the worst at running the tractor, she gets to use a shovel to clean the ends of the bunks that the tractor-sweeper can not reach…

Getting breakfast delivered is important because the feed helps them to stay warm...

Getting breakfast delivered is important because the feed helps them to stay warm…

Thanks to an early start and my diligent crew, every animal on the farm was fed by 8:30 yesterday morning...My crew makes me proud!

Thanks to an early start and my diligent crew, every animal on the farm was fed by 8:30 yesterday morning despite the challenge of the storm…

Poco was glad for breakfast too...

Poco was glad for breakfast too…

The ground isn't the only thing that turns white with snow and ice...

The ground isn’t the only thing that turns white with snow and ice…

I think that this young hawk wondered where his feed bunk was...

I think that this young hawk wondered where his feed bunk was…

A very special thanks to my three guys for their dedication and hard work. It is a joy to work with you–thanks for putting up with me 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Foodie Work!, General

8 responses to “Winter Storm Q Turns The Feed Yard Foodie Farm White…

  1. Joanne Atwood

    Great pictures!!!

  2. Michele Rager

    Thanks Anne for taking time to take such great pictures of your “Winter Wonderland with Cows”!! 🙂 I can certainly see how the weather can complicate an already difficult job. Very thankful that you and many other cattle feeders have the passion to do the job you do….bless them Lord!! Stay warm!!

  3. Thanks for always sharing the in and outs of your life… it is great to see the work that goes into things. My grandma said you all got quite a bit of snow. We are expecting some… I hope it stays away 😉

    • Everything is a pretty white–but it sure makes more work on the farm! We have at least a foot of snow. It’s been a long time since we have gotten that much. I hope that it makes for green grass this spring…

      Anne

  4. I am hearing about a meat delivery that is coming to our area called Zaycon, the meat is pre ordered and then delivered right from the packing house to your town. The meat is in 40pound boxes. I worked in school food service long enough to know that is a lot of meat and you need freezer space to get it in right away. I have read up on this company and have seen some good reports, what do you know or think about this company?

    • Ellie,

      I have not heard of the company, but I will do some checking and let you know if I find anything out worth knowing. Buying beef in bulk is more economical so I would think that as long as the beef was good quality that would be a great way to purchase it. I love my big deep freeze because it allows us to harvest our own animals and eat what we grow.

      I’ll let you know if I find out anything. Thanks for the heads up!

      Anne

Leave a Reply

