A Christmas Favorite…

My favorite Christmas tradition is cutting down a tree.  I grew up in the city where we bought an already cut down tree every year for Christmas.  When Matt and I moved to Nebraska in 1997, we started our own tradition of cutting down a tree each year.  Now that our girls are old enough to be opinionated, we have implemented a family voting system when choosing the tree.

Honestly, I do not know what is more fun—searching for the tree, debating on whether or not it is good enough to be “our tree”, watching Matt cut down the tree, or actually setting it up in the house and decorating it.  I love everything about our “Christmas Tree” tradition…

What better way to begin the search than hitching a ride around the tree farm...

What better way to begin the search than hitching a ride around the tree farm…Come on dad, can’t you go faster than that?!

Can you tell which one of my older daughters is the "instigator" of trouble?

Can you tell which one of my older daughters is the “instigator” of trouble?

The choice of my favorite blondes was a tree trimmed to look like a reindeer (I thought it looked more like pig myself)...

The choice of my favorite blondes was a tree trimmed to look like a reindeer (I thought it looked more like pig myself)…

Matt quickly moved them off to search for other trees...

Matt quickly distracted them with a tree just off to the right of the camara lens.  The tree was 25+ feet tall and was more suitable to being planted in my front lawn…

We finally settled on a very pretty 8 foot tree that I found while the other four were off looking at the 25 footer...

We finally settled on a very pretty 8 foot tree that I found while the other four were off looking at the 25 footer…

At one point in the cutting down process, Matt suggested that our favorite 13 year old athlete put her muscles to good use and help.  You can see how well that idea went over...

At one point in the cutting down process, Matt suggested that our favorite 13 year old athlete put her muscles to good use and help. You can see how well that idea went over…

There was a fairly decent "team effort" put forth to lift the tree onto the carrier...

There was a fairly decent “team effort” put forth to lift the tree onto the carrier…

Celebrating the success...

Celebrating the success…

Headed back to the pickup---either the blondes have begun a fitness and strength training program for their daddy or they are spoiled and have him wrapped around their little fingers...I am going with the latter of the two!

Headed back to the pickup—either the blondes have begun a fitness and strength training program for their daddy or they are spoiled and have him wrapped around their little fingers…I am going with the latter of the two!

All in all, the 2012 Christmas Tree tradition went well at the Feed Yard Foodie house!

Wandering, looking for a tree,

It’s hard to please both you and me…

Finally, we found it!

Watching dad wriggling on the ground

Timber! He finally cut it down.

Glowing, it brings joy to the home.

Poem by Ashley Grace

What’s your favorite holiday tradition?

5 Comments

Filed under Family, General

5 responses to “A Christmas Favorite…

  1. Dawn

    One of my favorite traditions as well. We did it with three boys each year. Now they are all grown and scattered. But I still get “the picture” of them in front of the tree each Christmas and post them all on a display board. So much fun to see how they’ve grown from little boys into young men.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours!
    PS. Ashley Grace – love the poem! That Megyn makes me laugh! Middle sister syndrome.

  2. Dawn,

    I love to hear that you share my favorite Christmas tradition! I think that when my girls are all grown up, I am going to have to bring them home to help choose the tree…I can not imagine doing it without them 🙂

    Yes, there is significant “middle sister syndrome” at our house, although (for the most part) it brings a tremendous amount of laughter and joy to our family. 🙂

    Have a wonderful holiday season,
    Anne

  3. This is one of our favorite traditions… cutting down the tree brings in the Christmas season for us the weekend after Thanksgiving. We go to a local tree farm and get a good one each year. Then we come home and decorate it the next day while listening to Christmas Music 🙂 We also like to watch all the old christmas shows from our childhood like the original animated Santa Clause is Comming to Town. I love your tree so pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

