Meatful Mondays…

This fall, my favorite 7th grader developed a tendency to role her eyes at me during family discussions.  I adopted a new policy at the Feed Yard Foodie house to counteract this unacceptable habit—every eye roll is equal to 10 push-ups.

She’s gotten pretty good at them…

This new rule has led to two developments: 1. There are fewer eye roll movements at our dinner table, and 2. My oldest daughter is developing “pipes” for bicep muscles that rival what mine looked like during my competitive swimming days…

This new protocol has been incredibly effective, and I view it as one of my more successful parenting initiatives.  My daughter is refocusing on showing respect for adults while also improving her physical strength.  It’s a win-win deal.  She is a smart kid, and over the past few months she has learned to catch herself right before the “eye roll” starts, simply replacing it with a smile instead.  The result is a much better dinner experience for the family!

The power of a beautiful smile and her Mama’s homemade meat loaf with home grown hamburger and tomatoes!

Every time that I read about the “Meatless Monday” campaign, I experience the same reaction as when my daughter rolls her eyes at me.  Very simply, I get angry.  The campaign (as seen again yesterday by the Los Angeles city council’s announcement) is frequently aligned with rhetoric about improving your health.  In this instance, Councilwoman Jan Perry is quoted as saying that the resolution is part of an overall “good food” agenda for the city which will result in better health amongst the community of Los Angeles.  I disagree with Councilwoman Perry—I believe that beef plays a key role in good health.

Beef’s Competitive Advantage #2

Beef is a natural food that is a great source of 10 essential nutrients including zinc, iron and protein.  There are 29 cuts of beef that meet the government standards for lean—some of my favorites include lean ground beef, tenderloin and T-bone steaks.  All of these 29 cuts of beef have 4.5 grams or less of saturated fat and less than 95 milligrams of cholesterol per 3 ounce serving.  The protein found in beef helps to maintain healthy body weight, build muscle (just look at my daughter’s biceps!), and plays an important role in a healthful lifestyle and disease prevention.

Here’s to strength and good health!

Is it possible to process or cook beef in a way to make it less healthy?  Absolutely…But, there are also a great variety of tasty ways to include healthy lean beef in your diet.  Ways that allow you to focus on good health while enjoying beef’s signature great taste.

Councilwoman Perry, it is not about the beef, it is about the way that it is prepared and what is served to compliment it! 

I believe that a healthy diet needs to include a diverse selection of food.  I feed my family beef almost every single day because I believe that it is a critical part of maintaining our good health.  I pair beef with fruits, vegetables and whole grains to provide a healthy blend of nutrients.  Between cross country, volleyball, basketball, soccer, gymnastics and swimming– my girls need fuel to get through the day.  Of course, we can’t forget the nightly push-ups either!

The west was won on a diverse diet of meat, grains and vegetables…Her cross country races were won that way as well.

The Feed Yard Foodie house proudly participates in Meatful Mondays

Have you served your family one of the 29 cuts of lean beef recently?  Check out http://beefitswhatsfordinner.com for more ideas of how to fuel your family with great tasting lean beef.

14 Comments

Filed under General, Nutrition (cattle and human)

14 responses to “Meatful Mondays…

  1. Dawn

    Haha! I am also an eye roller. Hope my boys never hear about this punishment for their mama!

  2. Kathy Bottrell

    I believe variety in our diet is a good thing, at our house we generally eat pork one day a week, chicken one day, and fish one day. The rest of the time it is BEEF. My only complaint about the beef we are getting these days, I would like to have the marbling and fat that we had 30 years ago. I believe that if we avoid the junk food available in our culture, the fat in the beef isn’t going to bother us.

    • Kathy,

      I would suggest that you try to purchase the beef in the grocery store that has the most marbling—high end choice or prime. Certified Angus Beef might be a good fit for you. I share your sentiment regarding marbling–I like a well marbled steak too! And, I also agree that cutting out the junk food is a good choice.

      The nice thing about beef today is that there are many choices available to match the diversity that today’s shopper is looking for.

      Thanks for sharing,
      Anne

  3. What a novel way to get kids to behave a little bit better ; had my mother known of this when I was little, I’d be a professional bodybuilder by now lol! Great post and glad to see you’re daughter is being a good sport about it:)))

    • Hi Wartica,

      You are certainly correct, my daughter is a good sport. I am very proud of the young lady that she is becoming. She is learning to make good choices, while also figuring out the importance of exercise and good health.

      Thanks for reading and sharing. I am glad that you enjoyed the post. All the best,
      Anne

  4. Bill

    She is stacked, but you were ripped at the same age. You had no ‘marbling.’

    • You don’t want to challenge her to an arm wrestling match 🙂 She is lucky enough to be taller than her mama which comes in handy for sports! If I remember right, you are about twice as tall as I am…

      Anne

  5. Jeff

    I’m pirating the push-up idea for my favorite soon to be 8 year old. My eyes are still in the back of my head after reading the big announcement from LA though. Why should anyone expect common sense and facts in LA to get in the way…

    • Jeff,

      I can envision you instituting a similar idea in your house. We’ll be on the look out for the Meyer boys in the football world in a few years 🙂

      Anne

  6. Nebraska Farm Wife

    I still think a “re-vamped home ec” class needs to be manditory in our schools that would include teaching healthy preperation of a large variety of foods and how to make them taste great. Why not teach kids about eating a well balanced meal that meets their daily requirement for protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals then take it to the next step and actually show them how to cook it.

    • I agree Bobbi, we need to give our kids the skills that they need to make good food decisions and then be able to implement them. All three of my girls know how to cook, and spend time with Matt and I in the kitchen. Making food choices and knowing how to prepare well balanced meals are incredibly important “life skills”.

      Thanks for sharing,
      Anne

  7. Reblogged this on Pretty Work and commented:
    You may have heard about the Meatless Monday campaign. I heard a guest on the Today show say something along the lines of “it’s really about being healthy and eating more vegetables.” I’m all for being more healthy and I love veggies. That’s why I run, that’s why I have a big salad everyday for lunch and that’s why I lecture my Dad about eating too many Cheetos – which is completely ineffective. But I don’t see why we should have to cut out meat to eat more veggies, my salad is even better with some left over steak or grilled chicken on top and the protein helps me run longer and faster.
    I’m joining the Feed Yard Foodie in Meatful Mondays. For the next few weeks I’m going to post some of my favorite Meatful recipes here. If you have a Meatful recipe you’d like to share send it to prettyworkblog@gmail.com

  8. Pingback: Raising the Bar Higher… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

