8 Years and Counting…

Eight years ago tomorrow, Matt and I were blessed with the birth of our third daughter.  She was born in the midst of the Fall Run at the feed yard (https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/the-fall-run/) .  I laugh that she arrived four weeks early for two reasons: 1. There wasn’t much room in my 5’3″ frame for her to continue to grow, and 2. She was tired of me receiving, vaccinating, and caring for cattle while she kicked and squirmed in my stomach…

The proof that Matt was destined to be surrounded by women!

She arrived at 36 weeks of pregnancy to the day weighing 6 pounds and 7 ounces.  She paid no attention to the planned due date, and arrived with little notice.  The nurses at the hospital curiously listened to my phone conversations as they took my vitals and helped to care for Karyn and I.  They were not used to new mothers arranging for cattle arrival, shipment and daily care from the hospital bed.

The chores at the feed yard were just as persistent as my newly arrived angel…

Karyn’s early arrival wreaked havoc with my carefully scheduled and busy fall season.  While I did not know it at the time, her early birth served as an effective demonstration of her natural ability to quietly but effectively change a situation to suit herself.  Eight years later, she is still employing this tactic daily.

Her sisters were very excited for her arrival. Although they would never admit it, she still rules their life today…

My mother-in-law brought Karyn and I home from the hospital—my husband was busy at the feed yard vaccinating cattle and doing my chores.  It wasn’t long before Karyn was spending quality time at the feed yard with her mama.

Keeping warm on a Saturday morning at the feed yard…Can you guess which one is about to turn 8 ?

It is certainly true that she has had an unorthodoxed childhood.  She was “helping” me buy cattle in the Nebraska sandhills at three weeks of age.  She still spends quite a bit of time at the feed yard—from riding in the feed truck to helping me to exercise calves.

Riding in the feed truck with my foreman, Doug, is a special time for her.

No matter what she chooses to do with her life, Karyn will bring a unique perspective.  She is growing up learning to see the world not only as a little girl, but also as a good animal caregiver which requires viewing the world through the eyes a bovine…

I cherish these times…and count my blessings…

This week I am thankful for my beautiful blue-eyed 8 year old.  While she learns to view the world with a multifaceted perspective, I smile knowing that at the end of the day she will still find a creative way to quietly ensure that the Feed Yard Foodie house continues to revolve around her…

Happy Birthday, Kar-Bear!

6 Comments

Filed under Family, General

6 responses to “8 Years and Counting…

  1. Sue Fan Ferguson

    Have a great birthday Karyn!

  2. Happy Birthday Karyn! My your family continue to be blessed with love, laughter and happiness.

  3. Pat Kroese

    Good lookin’ bunch!

  4. Thanks to everyone for your birthday wishes for Karyn. She is excited to hear from all of you 🙂

    Anne

  5. My favorite post, of course!!!! Happy birthday kar-bear. Miss you much. Love Karyn and the girls 🙂

Leave a Reply

