Megan’s Dirt and Fun Before the Sun…

After almost three months of summer vacation, my three girls went back to school yesterday.  While we are all looking forward to having more of a routine to our days, I have to admit that I will miss not having them around as much.  My two favorite blondes spent quite a bit of time with me this summer at the feed yard and it will be a bit quiet with them back at school!

Enjoying a beautiful dawn at the feed yard…

One of my “summer” goals was to engage my girls and encourage them to continue learning through the summer months.  Below is a video of my favorite 10 year old emptying a pen of cattle at the feed yard at the beginning of an exercising session.  In addition to starring in the video, Megan also edited the video to include music for your entertainment.  Many of you will remember that Jason Aldean’s hit “Fly Over States” is one of my favorite songs—well, Megan likes it too!  I think that the combination of the song and her video shows clearly what happens in a “Fly Over State”.  Happy watching 🙂

36 Comments

Filed under Cattle Handling Videos starring Feed Yard Foodie!, General

36 responses to “Megan’s Dirt and Fun Before the Sun…

  1. Good job Megan! Having lived and wandered over those “fly over states” I got a bit sentimental watching your video. Excellent job!!

  2. Dawn

    Learned her momma’s lessons well. Way to go Megan! Couldn’t be more proud if she were my own.

    • Dawn, I am so very proud of her also. She does a great job and has an affinity with animals that is wonderful to see. She is a great “student” and loves the time that she spends with me at the feed yard. Megan is a prime example of the great things that youth can learn on a farm!

      Thanks for commenting–
      Anne

  3. Nebraska Farm Wife

    Nebraska is definately a “fly over state”. I laugh when ever somebody asks me how I could move from “Beautiful Colorado” and love living in central Nebraska because it is so flat!! Megan makes it look so effortless to move the calves around the pen!!! Such a natural!!!

    • Bobbi,

      You are right–Nebraska is a wonderful state to live in. Our sunrises and sunsets across the flat plains are spectacular!

      I will pass your comment onto Megan about her cattle handling–she will be excited to see it.

      Thanks!
      Anne

  4. Tom Field

    Megan,
    Really a cool video and you are awesome with the cattle – watching you work is an inspiration and I look forward to the day my 8 week old daughter can learn from you! You would be welcome on our ranch any day of the week and twice on Sundays!
    Tom

    • Dr. Tom,

      Thanks so much for your comment–I have passed it along to Megan. While I am sure that she would love to visit your ranch someday, I’m not sure that I want to give her up! She’s pretty handy to have around 🙂

      All the best,
      Anne

  5. Dan

    Great job. It shows me how farmers really cares for their animals.

  6. Carol

    Megan’s learned well. She does it just the way you do, Anne! Great job on both the teaching and learning ends of things!

  7. You know therefore considerably relating to this topic, made me in my opinion believe it from so many numerous angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be involved until it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs excellent. Always maintain it up!

  8. Pingback: Cattle Psychology – Where the Romantic Meets the Pragmatist… | Feed Yard Foodie

  9. Buying used forklifts are highly economical
    provided the equipment meets the safety standards prescribed by agencies like Health and Safety Executive.

    Okay, so accounting has a lot of terms, many of
    which overlap. There are pre-fabricated, wanting to assemble and custom built styles to focus on your requirements.

  10. We stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look
    forward to looking at your web page again.

  11. Wow! In the end I got a web site from where I be capable of genuinely take useful information concerning my study and
    knowledge.

  12. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the
    nail on the head. The problem is something
    that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I found this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  13. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seekingg more
    of yopur magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared ypur web site in my social networks!

  14. I do not even know the way I ended up right here, but I believed
    this publish was once great. Ido not recognise who you’re however certainly you are
    going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  15. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Thank you!

  16. Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything
    is available on web?

  17. Howdy! This post could not bee written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this
    article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a great read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  18. Remarkable! Its in fact amazing post, I have got much clear idea on the topic
    of from this post.

  19. Nice post. I learn something tottally neew and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.

    It’s always interesting to read content from other authors and practice something from othher websites.

  20. obviously lke your web-site howesver you need to ceck the
    spelling on quite a few off your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling
    issuees and I find it very bothersome tto inform the truth however I’ll surely come back again.

  21. It’s an amazing poat for all the interneet viewers;
    they will get advantage from it I am sure.

  22. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at
    a honest price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  23. Het Paleo kid terug naar school recepten die voedzaam en makkelijk te
    bereiden. Caseïne kan toegevoegd worden aan niet-verwerkte producten. Niet alleen joggen of
    hometrainer tijdens het lezen zoals de wusses in sportscholen, moet u zweten als een varken aan het einde van uw
    uur van cardio.

  24. What i do not understood is actually how you’re not actually much more well-preferred than you may be right now.

    You’re so intelligent. You realize thus considerably in terms of this
    topic, produced me personally consider it from so
    many various angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated
    except it’s one thing to do with Girl gaga!
    Your own stuffs nice. All the time care for it up!

  25. This important computer hardware also includes the optical mouse
    which sends optical signals to the computer.
    Most people are aware that routers have
    a range of effectiveness; what they don’t know is that even within that range there are a
    number of factors that affect router performance and the robustness of the connection.
    Lately stores like Pottery Barn have really been showing a lot of distressed wood and iron
    versions that can be vintage or rustic.

  26. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of info
    on your site. Im really impressed by it.

    Hello there, You’ve performed a great job. I will certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this
    site.

  27. After checking out a few of the blog posts on your web site, I really appreciate your way of
    blogging. I saved it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back
    soon. Please check out my website too and tell me what you think.

  28. Hi Dear, are you genuinely visiting this site regularly, if so afterward you will absolutely
    get nice know-how.

  29. VOYANCEWEB peut interdire la mise en relation avec ce pseudonyme grossier ou irrespectueux des règles de
    la courtoisie autant que ça dernier n’a pas été changé par ce Client/Conseil, sans
    que cela non puisse être bizarre prétexte de réclamation ou de
    remboursement monétaires ou d’unités de
    date. Ceci changement de pseudonyme n’a annulée incidence
    sur l’élimination d’un Client/Assemblée à achevé ou
    bien partie des prestation, notamment s’celui-ci a été inscrit marche unique
    Voyant sur seul liste black au bordée de la clause de conscience, cela qui a malgré conclusion de restreindre intégral demande de mise en relation en compagnie de celui-ci Voyant.
    Ce Client/Résolution est en perpendiculaire d’interrompre la
    visite à terminé moment, s’celui nenni se reconnaît marche du intégral
    dans les visée du Voyant. Bizarre temps par audio 49 , 90 EURO

  30. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and
    I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  31. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here
    by searching for music

  32. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

