Becoming a Believer…

I have a quote down at the very bottom of the home page from football player Drew Brees’ book, Coming Back StrongerWhen I read Drew’s book a couple of years ago, it just plain spoke to me.  In fact, I have many pages of notes where I copied down quotes that I loved from the book.  The one below is my favorite…

“Believing—there are several layers to it. There’s the surface-level type of believing, where you acknowledge that something is true. Then there is a deeper kind of belief–the type that gets inside of you and actually changes you. It’s the kind of belief that changes your behavior, your attitude, and your outlook on life, and the people around you can’t help but notice.”

I am a person of very strong beliefs and faith.  I have always been strong-willed, but the confidence that I have attained as an adult stems from the development of personal beliefs and faith.  My life is centered around love, empathy and hard work because I believe that is what allows me to use my talents to achieve greatness.

I work tenaciously as a parent to teach my girls to be believers

Although there are many different people that have served as mentors for me over the years, learning to be a caregiver for animals has inspired in me a deep level of believing that transcends everything else.  Figuring out what an animal needs and then working tenaciously to provide those needs brings me an inner confidence and a sense of peace.

Both of these animals are actively engaged with me and asking me for guidance…

As I watch my cattle thrive and grow, and then trace their performance all of the way to my own dinner plate I become even more of a believer. I am left with a sense of purpose, and inspired to work harder with each day that passes.  My love for animals is diversified and runs deep. I am happiest when I am surrounded by them.

On top of my trusty equine partner and surrounded by cattle…

My daughter, Megan, and I spent a couple of days recently in the Sandhills of Nebraska.  My husband laughs that even when I go on vacation, I take some of my animals with me.  Megan and I joined some friends at “horse camp” riding and learning how to be better communicators with our equine partners.

Megan (right) practicing her “Miss America” wave while sitting side-saddle on her horse.  She is joined by her two friends and their favorite equines…

My favorite part of the trip was watching my daughter in her own journey to becoming a believer.  Our animals not only teach her a sense of personal responsibility as she learns to provide for them and understand them, but living her dream with them also brings a sense of innate self-confidence.

The above picture makes my heart swell.  The absolute joy and personal pride in her expression is priceless to me as a parent.  At the very moment that I took the picture, Megan became a believer.  She realized what it meant to be a partner to her horse and they achieved a unique harmony that only a lucky few will ever feel.

She caught a glimpse of how wonderful it feels to use empathy and feel to successfully and unselfishly communicate.  Going forward, she will view the world differently—with a sense of confidence and understanding that enables her to successfully use the gifts with which she is blessed.

Is there a pivotal moment in your own life that caused you to become a believer?

4 Comments

Filed under Family, General, Natural Horsemanship

4 responses to “Becoming a Believer…

  1. Bill

    On a more general level, I think you’re discussing the feeling a teacher gets when they successfully connect with a pupil. In your case, Megan understood what you were teaching AND accepted it. What you shared was joy to her. What she did was joy to you. Good job, Mom.

    • Bill,

      It was a beautiful thing to share with her, and reminds me how blessed I am.

      Thanks for your comparison–it is an accurate one.

      Anne

      • Dana Nesbitt

        Thank you for your writings, pictures and insights on farming!
        I discovered your blog, when I searched for a “healthy” beef recipe! We are farmers, too….in Western NY. We raise many
        varieties of apples. My husband has a special place in his heart for cattle, however. He has always wanted to visit the Sand Hills of NE. Maybe we’ll be able to leave the orchards long enough to visit someday! Keep blogging! Dana

      • Hi Dana,

        Thanks for your kind words. I am glad that you like the blog and hope that you will sign up on the home page to follow it! I post usually twice a week.

        If you ever find your way to Nebraska, please let me know. I’d love to show you our farm.

        Our family are big fans of “apples”–they seem to be the choice fruit at our house. Thanks for growing them for us!

        Anne

Leave a Reply

