Taking a Leap…

There is an innately practical reason why I was a competitive swimmer instead of a diver—I am afraid of heights and do not like to jump…I vastly prefer to be in control rather than free falling.

Although I am on the pool deck coaching swimming almost every day, I’ve never been off of the high board at our pool…

I love to blog because I love to share my life, my passion, and my farm with others.  Perhaps I am naïve, but I would like to think that my writings bring all of you as much joy and entertainment as writing them brings to me.  Blogging allows me to share without jumping and free falling because I am in control of the pictures, the words, the story…

Love rules our life—love for each other, love for the family that we have, and love for our farm…

I believe that personal growth and continuous improvement are what enables me to best use the talents with which I was blessed.  Sometimes that involves going outside of my comfort zone and taking a leap.  This was the primary reason that I agreed to do the interview with Alan and the rest of the crew from Business Week.

I needed to see if I was a talented enough communicator to teach someone about my life and my farm, and effectively give him the tools that he needed to accurately portray that in a meaningful way to others…

The practice that I get communicating with them is not the same…

I have to admit that I am glad that the process is finished and I can now go back to my comfort zone, but I also must acknowledge that it was a fantastic learning experience for me.  I took the leap and I survived.  There were some anxious moments, but I am pleased with the result.  It was a shorter article than I had envisioned given the “man-hours” spent working on the project, but I believe that the article depicts life on my farm and the goals that drive Matt and I each day.

I am not a business woman at heart, so it was an interesting experience to be interviewed by a business oriented publication.  I lost count of the number of times I was asked for revenue and profit margins and I subsequently tried to steer the conversation back toward animal psychology and care (my first love).   Matt fared better than I on the numbers’ questions as his background at Thayer Engineering and Tuck Business School developed in him an innately more business oriented perspective compared to me (the animal loving psychologist)…

I love my sign and this picture that Bradley took—what a beautiful image!

I am absolutely fascinated by the visual images that the author and editor chose to use to augment the written story.  The photographer (Bradley Peters)  spent two days with us and took hundreds of pictures.  As I looked through each of the 8 pictures in the slide show, I had to ask myself “Why did they choose this one?”.

I love this image too. Matt and Megan are getting a drink out of our irrigation water on a hot evening (we’ve had highs above 100 degrees for 10 days now)…

While it does not take very much thinking to figure out why the above two images were used, a few of the other ones left me puzzled…There is the one of me in my office with a very weird look on my face and also this one of the family that has my favorite 7th grader very perturbed…

Can you figure out why she does not care for this picture?

The first time that I watched the slide show I could not for the life of me figure out why the editor chose to use the above picture.  It actually was taken when Bradley was checking the lights at 10:15 at night after many hours of photography.  As you can tell, my kids were exhausted.  I actually had to get my oldest out of bed for “one more round of pictures”.  While I can easily empathize with her and understand her embarressment, I have decided that this picture really does a pretty good job of depicting what my family looks like at 10:15 at night after a long day…

This picture brings her less embarressment, but isn’t as truthful an image given the circumstances under which it was taken…

There is a part of me that wishes that a few of the other images that Bradley took had been included in the story—one of Matt’s alfalfa harvesting equipment or one of the kids picking vegetables in our home garden, but for the most part I can understand the editor’s choices.

All in all, I am very proud of what Matt and I have accomplished over the past 15 years.  It has taken incredible team work and dedication, and is most especially a labor of love…I am also very thankful to Alan and Bradley for sharing their time with us to learn what life is like on our farm!

13 Comments

Filed under Feed Yard Foodie "In The News", General

13 responses to “Taking a Leap…

  1. It always seems to be like that doesn’t it? When you step out of your comfort zone it’s terrifying at the time but looking back you’re so glad you did it – at least that’s how I am. It was a great article. I also thought some of their photo choices were interesting, especially with you having said they had so many choices. Congrats on being published!

  2. Nebraska Farm Wife

    I too had the same feeling about the length of the article. The first time I read it I got to the end and thought “thats it”. But it left me with the feeling of a movie that will have a part 2, I was wanting to know more. I do understand that in order to cover everything just in the feedlot and alfalfa production side of ag would have taken more than just an article it would take several books to accurately describe all of the ins and outs. Still a great step for agriculture to get a positive message to the consumers and the sceptics.

  3. I think they did a good job with the article, Anne. I agree with you that personal growth and continuous improvement are what enable us to use the talents with which we are blessed. Sometimes, I think, we need a push to discover hidden talents. Life is hard and I personally need to remember to go outside my comfort zone and risk the leap.

    • Robyn,

      I can’t help but think that you do push yourself with your blog and your own outreach. You are doing great things! Keep it up 🙂

      Anne

  4. Thank you for leaping out of your comfort zone to share your story with another world. I imagine this was a first for many in Business Week’s audience–a glimpse at a real life, diverse, successful, modern day, family farm. I’d give you a perfect 10!

  5. Mary Laura

    Great job, Anne. I also wondered about those two pictures, especially since you have so many fantastic pictures (I think better than the magazine’s) on your blog. I laughed about the high dive reference, because I remember helping to time your swim meet one summer, and Terry totally escaped all of our eyes until we discovered him at the top of the high dive (and you all were small then)! I downloaded a copy of the magazine to my Nook, but I am so disappointed to find that pretty much NOBODY carries weekly magazines like this in their magazine sections. It’s a shame so many people will miss out on this, and I was really hoping to find a hard copy to brag about you. I do believe I will be able to find a copy at my local library after it recovers from our rare “derecho” storm and power outages. Hope it’s cool out your way!

    • Hi Mary Laura! Yes, Terry was always the one who preferred the “dare devil” stuff…He must have gotten all of those genes!

      I have been told that Barnes and Noble will have the magazine starting tomorrow (I think), so you might try there.

      It has been very warm here—temps above or near 100 degrees every day for 10 days. We are supposed to get a cool down this weekend and only be in the 80’s. My cattle, horses, and I are all looking forward to that! I am starting to wish for winter 🙂

      Hope that all is well and that you get power back soon.
      Anne

  6. Mary Laura

    I called Barnes and Noble before I sent my comment, and the young lady is hoping to hold one for me. In the Virginia suburbs there was a Barnes and Noble around every corner, but in Prince George’s County suburbs, historical reasons mean it’s a bit of a hike. Your reporter can probably tell you why. 🙂 I am looking forward to holding a copy in my hands. We were fortunate not to lose our power (amazing!) but just before bed, I was setting the alarm for an early workday in the restaurant and had the pleasure of bolting upright when a GIGANTIC tree landed on our roof. Happily (unhappily for them), the house next door broke the fall a bit. No major damage to us, but a gaping hole in their roof. Without their house I definitely would have had a valid excuse not to show up to work! Guess there was a greater plan for me to survive to read your article! 🙂 We are sweltering, too, with 106F – 108F predicted for Saturday. I, too, am missing winter. Take care.

  7. Thanks for taking the leap. It gave me a glimpse into family-farming, and now I can follow your blog too. Wishing the weather is kind to your harvests. Regards, -Leela

    • Hi Leela,

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I am so glad that you are interested in following our family and our farm!

      As for the weather, it is dry and we are all hoping for some rain to come our way. Have a great day!

      Anne

Leave a Reply

