Cowboying At The Feed Yard…

My cowboy is in the Black Hills on vacation this week.  When he is gone I take over his chore of riding pens and checking the health of all of our cattle.  Although this adds to my fairly long list of things that Anne must get done today, I really enjoy riding pens.  I get started early (about 6:00 am) so that I am finished by the middle of the morning.  It is easiest to check cattle health during the cool hours of the morning.

I took a variety of pictures while on horseback and thought that I would share my favorites…

Dawn at the feed yard—it is so beautiful that it makes it worth getting up at 5:00am…

The feed truck getting started for the day…

Checking cattle…Studly is a good partner.

Being high up on Studly’s back gives me a good view of each one of my animals which helps me to assess their health…

Sometimes I find an animal that is sick and so I guide him out of his “home pen” and down to our main corral so that I can take his temperature and administer an antibiotic after I have diagnosed him…A good cowboy is a “cow doctor”.

I love this “shadow” picture…

Cattle do not often sit “like a dog”, but this steer posed for me while I took his picture sitting in the cool morning air…

Studly helped me to move a pen of cattle one morning. Here we are trailing down the main alleyway to a new home pen…

We also shipped some cattle to harvest on Tuesday afternoon. These two big boys are about ready to be put on the bus

As I care for my cattle, I always remember the end goal—safe and healthy beef that I feed to my family and to yours. Here, my favorite 12 year old eats a beef stir fry that is made from home grown vegetables and beef from our farm.

In many ways, being a mom helps me to be a good cowboy.  Developing a sense for my animals’ health is similar to the sense that I have developed with my own children.  I know what normal looks like, and so as I check the health of my animals I look for anything that is abnormal.  Being a mom also reminds me how important my job is because I know that the cattle that I raise will be used to nourish my own family in addition to nourishing yours…

1 Comment

Filed under Animal Welfare, Foodie Work!, General

One response to “Cowboying At The Feed Yard…

  1. Pingback: Winter Chores… | Feed Yard Foodie

Leave a Reply

