Spring in Nebraska…

In the almost 15 years that I have lived in Nebraska, spring has never ceased to amaze me.  I am pretty sure that I have spent every March feeling as though I was doing my best Mary Poppins impersonation!  My guys at the feed yard tease me that I need to put weights in my shoes so that I do not blow away… The wind in March is constant (constantly blowing 30+mph)–just as constant as the geese migration. The link below has an amazing video that Matt took just a couple of miles from the feed yard…

http://www.youtu.be/4ondGfXdhtg

Every spring I am reminded of the natural cycle of life as plants come out of winter dormancy and new life is prolific.

The brave crocuses in our front yard are in full bloom...(At least until the next snow storm!)

Wheat is one of the first things to "green" up. This field of Matt's is trying hard to turn green!

The highlight of spring is the baby calves that make their way into the world…

This little guy is just a few days old.

I am left in awe as I take in the beauty of new life.  I am also thankful to be a part of the process.  I am, after all, not just the humble inhabitant (https://feedyardfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/the-humble-inhabitant/), but am also an active participant.  Thanks to teamwork, this little guy of Tom and Pam Laird’s will one day come to my feed yard and make great tasting and healthy beef for me to feed to my family and to yours…

A year ago, this big guy was born at Tom and Pam's pasture and he is now at my feed yard...

The March winds bring the promise of spring and the next life cycle.  What a beautiful progression to be a part of!