Choosing beef…

One of Feed Yard Foodie’s most dedicated readers, Bill, asked last week if I could send out free samples of my beef with my final post of Calf #718…

While I would love to share my beef directly with all of you, logistically it is impossible…So, I figure that the next best thing to sharing my beef, is to share ideas of how to purchase great beef to enjoy!

The meat counter at the grocery store can be incredibly confusing—to add to the confusion is the fact that different regions of the country call different cuts of beef different names!

When you see this logo, you know that the information comes from beef farmers like me!

The Beef Checkoff (which is a national program that all beef farmers like me participate in to promote research and education regarding beef) has developed a virtual meat case to help consumers navigate the meat case at the grocery store.

For my first “Foodie Fun” post, I would like to share the link to the virtual meat case with you all and urge you to go explore it!  I think that it will be incredibly useful to you as you try to figure out the cuts of beef.  There are also recipes and cooking tips specific to the different cuts…

http://www.beefitswhatsfordinner.com/meatcase.aspx

Happy Learning…Take the opportunity this weekend to try out a new cut of beef!

If you like to grill, this T bone steak is ensured to make your mouth water! Thanks to the Nebraska Beef Council for the picture...

3 Comments

Filed under Beef Life Cycle--Calf #718, Recipes and Beef Cooking Tips...

3 responses to “Choosing beef…

  1. Bill

    The free sample request was worth a shot. Thanks, Anne. I really enjoyed this series. In your Foodie Fun area, give us non-chefs some pointers on how to grill and serve a great steak. Currently, I only know how to eat them. I’ve heard that ‘Well-Done’ is a no-no in the steak world, but ‘rare’ tends to have the voodoo disease stigma.

  2. Butcher

    If you really want to know about meat and “beef” (not cattle) ask a butcher, not a feedyard operator. Good lord, this is ridiculous…..

    • Hi John,

      I am so glad that you stopped by my blog. I took a few minutes this afternoon to look at your website and blog. It looks like you have a wonderful set up and a great ability to complete the beef life cycle (birth to harvest) with your cattle.

      I spent a long time this summer tracing a calf from birth to harvest with a long series of posts. The blog post that you commented on was at the end of the long series of Calf #718 posts. I hope that you were able to take the time to read all of the posts so that this particular one would make the most sense as you read it. If you haven’t have a chance to do that yet, you can read the posts in order by going to the category section on the right side of the home page and click on “beef life cycle-Calf #718” to access all of the posts. Perhaps the “whole picture” will come together a little bit clearer once you read all of the posts.

      I very much agree that a butcher has more knowledge regarding the beef product than a feed yard manager; however, I do believe that the link to the interactive meat case that I shared in this post is a great way for people to learn about the different cuts of beef and see some sample recipes for each cut. Not everyone has access to a great butcher, so it is nice to be able to self educate. I have personally found it very useful as I look for new ways to cook my beef.

      The main purpose of this blog site is to give consumers an inside look at where their beef comes from. In order to do a complete job of that, I believe that I need to talk about all of the parts of the beef production cycle—from farm to plate. I have extensive experience cooking beef and would like to share that with my readers as well as how my cow/calf partners and I care for our animals that are harvested to grow that beef.

      I encourage you to continue to follow the blog so that we can have a conversation and learn from each other.
      Anne

Leave a Reply

