The Transition…

My favorite teenager made the transition last week from Cross Country to Basketball.  As always, she lamented the end of the XC season as running is her first love.  However, she is excited for basketball and looking forward playing a little bit of hoops :)

From the XC course to the basketball court...

From the XC course to the basketball court…

Ashley Grace shares many things in common with me, but struggling through transitions ranks near the top.  We are both creatures of habit and changes to our life schedules are challenging to deal with.  I am proud of the way that she is maturing and learning to deal with transitions as that is an important life skill.

As I wrote about earlier in the fall, we just built a new shop/steel building behind our house.  Knowing our girls’ love of sports and their need for some “active decomposing” time in their lives, we built the new shop with a high enough roof pitch to be able to make a partial basketball court in the building.

My favorite farmer with his favorite teenager...

My favorite farmer with our favorite teenager…

My favorite engineer turned farmer teamed up with my favorite teenager over the weekend to paint the court.  I love to watch Matt work with the girls.  The engineer in him mandates a level of precision while doing tasks, yet he is also extremely patient with the girls as they work together.

Getting ready to paint...

Getting ready to paint…It’s the hard knock life!

I doubt that my girls really understand how truly lucky they are to have such a wonderful dad, but I thank God every day for all that Matt brings to our lives.  While there is certainly more to life than straight lines on a basketball court, it doesn’t get much better than completing a project that will bring joy and memories for years to come.

Teamwork...

Teamwork…

Today I head to Dakota City to attend my second Tyson Fresh Meats Animal Wellbeing committee meeting.  Although I will miss both my family and the farm, I know that I leave them in capable and loving hands.DSC07240

It is always interesting to arrive back home after a couple of days on the road—I know that I can count on my favorite teenager to tell the entertaining tales of life with my favorite farmer steering the helm…

Or perhaps the helm will actually be steered by the basket swooshing teenager...

Or perhaps the helm will actually be steered by the teenager…?

9 Comments

Filed under Ashley Grace's Corner, Family, General

9 responses to “The Transition…

  1. Good morning, Anne! I too am a delightfully functional person who has to grind her way through transition. I’m with you and A.G. on that. Change is not my thing. I like my groove and prefer honing it daily – life, do not interrupt me, please. ;) And yes, a good man with a penchant for engineering is such a blessing! My farmer and I don’t have children yet, but I can see how the patience and the precision will have me sighing thankfully in the years to come, too.

    Hope you have a great week!
    Emily Grace

    • It appears that we have quite a lot in common, Emily Grace! It is good to hear from another soul who likes a routine :)

      Thanks for reading and commenting and I hope that you have a great week as well!

      Anne

  2. Kathy Bottrell

    I love the last line about the teenager being at the helm. Just don’t let her know that that is what is happening. lol

    • I agree, Kathy. The only problem is that she pretty well knows that she runs the house when I am gone…She does her very best to keep my husband running on time and organized :) It is actually pretty comical to watch.

      Even when I am at home, I leave for the feed yard by 6:00am so Matt is “in charge” of getting the girls to school. I try to get back by the house every once in a while before they leave, and when I do I am always entertained by AG getting Matt “ready” for the day…

      Good to hear from you,
      Anne

  3. Jeff

    Now that I’m done laughing…”The engineer in him mandates a level of precision while doing tasks.” Ok…I’m laughing again. A classic quote that will live in infamy, while at the same time being bull’s eye accurate. Laughing again.

    • Yes, Jeff, I believe that you are one person that can truly enjoy and relate to those words. Glad to bring a laugh to your night!

      Hope that all is well with Erin and the boys–
      Anne

  4. Have a safe and fun trip :) It is nice to hear about a father being such a good and patient role model… its a refreshing change from what I deal with on a daily basis at my job. Can’t wait to hear about your trip :)

    • I agree that Matt’s a keeper :). I have lots of thoughts coming out of the Farm Check meeting—we’ll have to see what comes together on paper to share on the blog…

      I love your post today–thank you for a beautiful visual image that brought a smile to my night!

      Anne

Leave a Reply

