The Mission Statement…

My husband, Matt, took courses at Tuck Business School as a part of his M.S. graduate degree in Engineering Business.  As an undergraduate psychology major, I always found the “team building” information that he brought home from his business classes interesting.  I remember one day when he brought home ideas and information about developing your company’s Mission Statement.

Engineer-Businessman-Farmer-Daddy...

I hold weekly crew meetings at the feed yard in an effort to improve our communication and team work.  We often talk about what our priorities are and how we hope to best achieve them.  I am a believer in taking the time it takes to do all of the little things right and I place a huge emphasis on details as my guys and I care for our animals.

Every once in a while, at one of our weekly meetings, I will ask my guys “What is our goal?  What do we do here?”  Two of my three guys will roll their eyes and mutter something about having a woman psychologist as a boss lady, but my foreman invariable rises to the occasion and remarks: “We focus on doing all of the little things right because it makes a difference.  We focus on quality care and we get good results.”  YES!

Although I have never taken the time to develop an official written Mission Statement, it is something that I often think about.  I have a sign posted along the highway that runs just south of the feed yard—it has distinct Mission Statement components to it…

Generations of caring hands make a promise which allows for a sustainable legacy...

The past few posts have revolved around environmental stewardship and how Matt and I use the resources on our farm to not only produce beef but to provide long term sustainability for our land.  While growing crops and grass, feeding cattle to provide beef, and maintaining a healthy nutrient value to our soil are all integral pieces to this sustainability; there are some other pieces of the puzzle that are necessary to live up to the promise on my sign…

*Utilization of grass land to convert inedible human nutrients into human food…

*Use of co-products from other industries to feed to the cattle to increase efficiency and limit waste…

*Paying close attention to details in cattle care to ensure both animal comfort and feed efficiency performance–Revisiting mental, emotional, and physical fitness as it relates to cattle well being and how that impacts the environmental footprint of the farm…

We will look at each of these components next week with the help of my two favorite blondes!


1 Comment

Filed under Environmental Stewardship, General

One response to “The Mission Statement…

  1. Bill

    Your sign is your mission statement. What more do you need? Nice placement, too. Also, two thumbs up for using the word ‘taste.’

Leave a Reply

